George Gagnidze

Baritone

Biography

Lauded by the New York Times for his “expressive, resonant baritone”, “insightful phrasing” and “confident, imposing presence”, George Gagnidze ranks among the leading singers of his genre.

In the 2008/09 season, the dramatic baritone made his sensational debut at the Metropolitan Opera as Rigoletto and has since then returned in more than 130 performances, singing roles such as Macbeth, Amonasro (Aida), Scarpia (Tosca), Michele (Il tabarro), Tonio (Pagliacci), Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana) and Shaklovity (Hovanščina).

Contact

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 166359854
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Meshcherinova
Managerial Assistant

+49 30 166359857

Full Biography

Lauded by the New York Times for his “expressive, resonant baritone”, “insightful phrasing” and “confident, imposing presence”, George Gagnidze ranks among the leading singers of his genre.

In the 2008/09 season, the dramatic baritone made his sensational debut at the Metropolitan Opera as Rigoletto and has since then returned in more than 130 performances, singing roles such as Macbeth, Amonasro (Aida), Scarpia (Tosca), Michele (Il tabarro), Tonio (Pagliacci), Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana) and Shaklovity (Hovanščina).

Regularly invited by the most prestigious international opera companies, George Gagnidze kicks off his 2023/24 season starring in the title role of Nabucco at the Metropolitan Opera, followed by his house debut at the Atlanta Opera in the title role of Rigoletto. He subsequently returns to the MET for their winter run of Nabucco, including a Live in HD broadcast on January 6, 2024. Other engagements feature star turns at the Las Palmas Opera, where he portrays his “exceptionally menacing Scarpia” in Tosca (The New York Times).

In the 2022/23 season, George Gagnidze made his debut at the Dallas Opera in the title role of Rigoletto, a part he also performed at the Staatsoper Hamburg. He returned to the Metropolitan Opera as Scarpia and Amonasro, to the Gran Teatre del Liceu of Barcelona as Scarpia, to the Teatro San Carlo of Naples in the title role of Macbeth and to the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin for his role debut as Grand-Prêtre de Dagon in Samson et Dalila.

Engagements of the 2021/22 season included Scarpia at the Metropolitan Opera and at the Teatro San Carlo of Naples, Amonasro at the Los Angeles Opera, Germont in La traviata at the Deutsche Oper Berlin and at the Teatro San Carlo, the title roles of Macbeth at the Palau de les Arts Valencia and of Nabucco at the Staatsoper Hamburg, the Teatro Real of Madrid and the Tbilisi Opera House for a gala performance on the occasion of the inauguration of a Star with his name engraved in front of the theatre.

Other past highlights are Rigoletto, La traviata (Germont), Tosca and Aida at the Teatro alla Scala, Nabucco and Tosca at the Vienna State Opera, Otello (Iago), La traviata, Tosca, Francesca da Rimini and Aida at Opéra National of Paris, Simon Boccanegra (title role), Tosca and Aida at the Teatro Real Madrid, Andrea Chénier (Carlo Gérard) and Aida at the San Francisco Opera, La traviata at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, Rigoletto at the Festival of Aix-en-Provence, La traviata, Cavalleria rusticana and Pagliacci at the Gran Teatre del Liceu, Rigoletto and Pagliacci at the Los Angeles Opera, Tosca and Aida at the Staatsoper Berlin, Nabucco, Rigoletto, Otello, La Gioconda (Barnaba), Andrea Chénier and Tosca at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Luisa Miller (Miller) at the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia, Nabucco and La traviata at the Arena of Verona, Hovanščina at the BBC Proms in London and Otello at the Washington National Opera, the Greek National Opera of Athens and the Staatsoper Hamburg, where he has also sung in Cavalleria rusticana and Pagliacci.

Born in Tbilisi and trained at the State Conservatory of his home town, George Gagnidze debuted as Renato in Un ballo in maschera in 1996 at the Paliashvili State Opera. He entered the “Concorso Voci Verdiane” in 2005 as an award-winner of the “Leyla Gencer Voice Competition” and the “Elena Obraztsova Competition”. The jury, chaired by José Carreras and Katia Ricciarelli, awarded him first prize for his outstanding vocal interpretation. After launching his international career from Germany, he was soon engaged by many of the world’s important opera houses.

In the course of his career, George Gagnidze has worked with many renowned conductors and directors, including Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, James Conlon, Plácido Domingo, Gustavo Dudamel, Mikko Franck, James Levine, Jesús López Cobos, Fabio Luisi, Nicola Luisotti, Lorin Maazel, Michele Mariotti, Zubin Mehta, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Gianandrea Noseda, Daniel Oren, Kirill Petrenko, Yuri Temirkanov and Juraj Valčuha; Luc Bondy, Henning Brockhaus, Liliana Cavani, Robert Carsen, Giancarlo Del Monaco, Michael Mayer, David McVicar, Peter Stein, Robert Sturua and Francesca Zambello.

In September 2021, the star baritone presented his first solo album on the Orfeo label featuring arias by Leoncavallo, Giordano, Verdi, Wagner and Mozart, which was immediately nominated for the prestigious 2022 International Classical Music Awards in the Vocal Music category. His DVD/Blu-Ray recordings include Tosca from the Metropolitan Opera, Aida from La Scala and Nabucco from the Arena of Verona.

News

Piotr Beczala and George Gagnidze: Tosca in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

The tenor Piotr Beczala can be heard as Cavaradossi and the baritone George Gagnidze as Baron Scarpia in Puccini's opera Tosca at the Teatro Pérez Galdós in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Ramón Tebar conducts.
More

George Gagnidze: Nabucco at the Metropolitan Opera

George Gagnidze sings the title role of Verdis Nabucco at the Metropolitan Opera in New York on January 10, 13, 18, 21 and 26, 2024.
More

George Gagnidze: Welcome to CSAM!

Centre Stage Artist Management is thrilled to announce that acclaimed baritone George Gagnidze has joined the roster for general management.
More

Pictures

Videos

GEORGE GAGNIDZE as RIGOLETTO "Cortigiani" (2023)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE as NABUCCO (MET 2023)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE in SAMSON ET DALILA (Berlin 2023)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE "Nemico della patria" ANDREA CHÉNIER (2022)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE in AIDA (Los Angeles 2022)

George Gagnidze

Bariton

Biographie

Von der New York Times für seinen „ausdrucksstarken, resonanten Bariton“, seine „einfühlsame Phrasierung“ und seine „selbstbewusste, imposante Präsenz“ gelobt, zählt George Gagnidze zu den führenden Sängern seines Fachs.

In der Spielzeit 2008/09 gab der dramatische Bariton sein sensationelles Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera als Rigoletto und kehrte seitdem für mehr als 130 Vorstellungen zurück, wo er Rollen wie Macbeth, Amonasro (Aida), Scarpia (Tosca), Michele (Il tabarro), Tonio (Pagliacci), Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana) und Shaklovity (Chowanschtschina) sang.

Kontakt

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 166359854
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Meshcherinova
Managerial Assistant

+49 30 166359857

Biographie

Von der New York Times für seinen „ausdrucksstarken, resonanten Bariton“, seine „einfühlsame Phrasierung“ und seine „selbstbewusste, imposante Präsenz“ gelobt, zählt George Gagnidze zu den führenden Sängern seines Fachs.

In der Spielzeit 2008/09 gab der dramatische Bariton sein sensationelles Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera als Rigoletto und kehrte seitdem für mehr als 130 Vorstellungen zurück, wo er Rollen wie Macbeth, Amonasro (Aida), Scarpia (Tosca), Michele (Il tabarro), Tonio (Pagliacci), Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana) und Shaklovity (Chowanschtschina) sang.

George Gagnidze, der regelmäßig von den renommiertesten internationalen Opernhäusern eingeladen wird, beginnt seine Saison 2023/24 in der Titelrolle in Nabucco an der Metropolitan Opera, gefolgt von seinem Hausdebüt an der Atlanta Opera in der Titelrolle von Rigoletto. Anschließend kehrt er für die Wintervorstellungen von Nabucco an die MET zurück, eine davon wird am 6. Januar 2024 live in HD übertragen. Weitere Engagements führen ihn an die Las Palmas Opera, wo er den „außergewöhnlich bedrohlichen Scarpia“ in Tosca verkörpert (The New York Times).

In der Saison 2022/23 gab George Gagnidze sein Debüt an der Dallas Opera in der Titelrolle von Rigoletto, eine Rolle, die er auch an der Staatsoper Hamburg sang. Er kehrte an die Metropolitan Opera als Scarpia und Amonasro, ans Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona als Scarpia, an das Teatro San Carlo in Neapel in der Titelrolle von Macbeth und an die Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin für sein Rollendebüt als Grand-Prêtre de Dagon in Samson et Dalila zurück.

Zu den Engagements der Saison 2021/22 gehörten Scarpia an der Metropolitan Opera und am Teatro San Carlo in Neapel, Amonasro an der Los Angeles Opera, Germont in La traviata an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und am Teatro San Carlo, die Titelrollen von Macbeth am Palau de les Arts Valencia und von Nabucco an der Staatsoper Hamburg, am Teatro Real in Madrid und am Opernhaus von Tiflis für eine Galavorstellung anlässlich der Einweihung eines Sterns mit seinem Namen vor dem Theater.

Weitere Höhepunkte seiner Opernkarriere sind Rigoletto, La traviata (Germont), Tosca und Aida am Teatro alla Scala, Nabucco und Tosca an der Wiener Staatsoper, Otello (Jago), La traviata, Tosca, Francesca da Rimini und Aida an der Opéra National de Paris, Simon Boccanegra (Titelrolle), Tosca und Aida am Teatro Real Madrid, Andrea Chénier (Carlo Gérard) und Aida an der San Francisco Opera, La traviata am Royal Opera House Covent Garden, Rigoletto beim Aix-en-Provence-Festival, La traviata, Cavalleria rusticana und Pagliacci am Gran Teatre del Liceu, Rigoletto und Pagliacci an der Los Angeles Opera, Tosca und Aida an der Staatsoper Berlin, Nabucco, Rigoletto, Otello, La Gioconda (Barnaba), Andrea Chénier und Tosca an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, Luisa Miller (Miller) im Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia, Nabucco und La traviata in der Arena von Verona, Chowanschtschina bei den BBC Proms in London und Otello an der Washington National Opera, der Griechischen Nationaloper Athen und der Staatsoper Hamburg, wo er auch in Cavalleria rusticana und Pagliacci gesungen hat.

George Gagnidze wurde in Tiflis geboren und am Konservatorium seiner Heimatstadt ausgebildet. 1996 debütierte er als Renato in Un ballo in maschera am Paliashvili-Opernhaus. Als Preisträger der „Leyla Gencer Voice Competition“ und des „Elena Obraztsova Wettbewerbs“ nahm er 2005 am Gesangswettbewerb „Concorso Voci Verdiane“ teil und wurde von der Jury unter dem Vorsitz von José Carreras und Katia Ricciarelli mit dem ersten Preis ausgezeichnet. Nachdem er seine internationale Karriere von Deutschland aus gestartet hatte, wurde er bald von führenden Opernhäusern weltweit engagiert.

Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat George Gagnidze mit vielen renommierten Dirigenten und Dirigentinnen sowie Regisseuren und Regisseurinnen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, James Conlon, Plácido Domingo, Gustavo Dudamel, Mikko Franck, James Levine, Jesús López Cobos, Fabio Luisi, Nicola Luisotti, Lorin Maazel, Michele Mariotti, Zubin Mehta, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Gianandrea Noseda, Daniel Oren, Kirill Petrenko, Yuri Temirkanov und Juraj Valčuha; Luc Bondy, Henning Brockhaus, Liliana Cavani, Robert Carsen, Giancarlo Del Monaco, Michael Mayer, David McVicar, Peter Stein, Robert Sturua und Francesca Zambello.

Im September 2021 präsentierte der Starbariton sein erstes Soloalbum beim Label Orfeo mit Arien von Leoncavallo, Giordano, Verdi, Wagner und Mozart, das sofort für die renommierten International Classical Music Awards 2022 in der Kategorie Vokalmusik nominiert wurde. Zu seinen DVD/Blu-Ray-Aufnahmen gehören Tosca von der Metropolitan Opera, Aida von der Scala und Nabucco von der Arena von Verona.

 

 

Aktuelles

Piotr Beczala and George Gagnidze: Tosca in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Der Tenor Piotr Beczala ist als Cavaradossi und der Bariton George Gagnidze als Baron Scarpia in Puccinis Oper Tosca am Teatro Pérez Galdós in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria zu hören. Ramón Tebar dirigiert. Die Vorstellungen finden am 20., 22.& 24. Februar statt.
Mehr

George Gagnidze: Nabucco an der Metropolitan Opera

George Gagnidze singt die Titelrolle in Verdis Nabucco an der Metropolitan Opera in New York am 10., 13., 18., 21. und 26. Januar 2024.
Mehr

George Gagnidze: Willkommen bei CSAM!

Centre Stage Artist Management freut sich, den georgischen Opernstar George Gagnidze im General Management begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mehr

Bilder

Videos

GEORGE GAGNIDZE as RIGOLETTO "Cortigiani" (2023)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE as NABUCCO (MET 2023)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE in SAMSON ET DALILA (Berlin 2023)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE "Nemico della patria" ANDREA CHÉNIER (2022)
GEORGE GAGNIDZE in AIDA (Los Angeles 2022)