Mojca Erdmann

Soprano

Biography

Praised by critics and loved by audiences for her beauty of tone and impeccable artistry, soprano Mojca Erdmann is a mainstay in the international music scene. Of her return to the Metropolitan Opera in 2012, the New York Times wrote “Mojca Erdmann brought a sweet, beguiling voice and a demure sincerity to Susanna”. Known for her versatility in repertoire ranging from baroque to contemporary music, the BBC Music Magazine praised her as an “interpreter of major gifts”.

Contact

Maibrit Mahrhauser
Senior Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1761
Klara Maria Taube
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1759

Full Biography

Praised by critics and loved by audiences for her beauty of tone and impeccable artistry, soprano Mojca Erdmann is a star in the international music scene. She is known for her broad repertoire – ranging from baroque to contemporary music – with which she performs in major opera houses, festivals and concert halls worldwide.

The season 2020/21 focusses on some highly fascinating works: Mojca Erdmann kicks off the season with Luca Francesconi’s two-person piece Quartett, based on the play of the eponymous piece by Heiner Müller. The German version premieres under the direction of Daniel Barenboim at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, where the soprano can also be experienced as Seele in Frank Widmann’s Babylon at the end of the season. She makes her debut as Klara/Therese in a new production of Roman Haubenstock-Ramatis Amerika, based on the novel of Franz Kafka at the Zurich Opera House. The soprano’s versatility is also evident on the concert stage: Mojca Erdmann can be heard in 20/21, initially with Mozart arias together with the Akademie für Alte Musik as part of the Mozartwoche on Tour in the Pierre Boulez Hall in Berlin, with Bach’s Christmas Oratorio in the Leipzig Gewandhaus and as Barmherzigkeit in Mozart’s Die Schuldigkeit des ersten Gebots in the closing concert of the Salzburger Mozartwoche. Mozart takes Mojca Erdmann to Oslo before returning to the Boulez Hall in Berlin twice: with Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire under the baton of Thomas Guggeis and with Crumb’s Ancient Voices of Children conducted by Zubin Mehta. The soprano also performs Richard Strauss’ Vier letzte Lieder with the Hof Symphony Orchestra for the first time.

Highlights of the past seasons include her debut at the Metropolitan Opera New York as Zerlina (Don Giovanni) and Waldvogel (Siegfried), released on DVD by Deutsche Grammophon, and her role debut in Berg’s Lulu in 2012, the new production of the Berlin State Opera directed by Andrea Breth and conducted by Daniel Barenboim, also released on DVD by DG. Lulu became one of her signature roles: she sang a new production of William Kentridge at the Amsterdam Opera and Christoph Marthaler’s award-winning production of the Hamburg State Opera. In 2014, Mojca Erdmann sang Marzelline in a new production of Beethoven’s Fidelio at the famous season opening of La Scala in Milan, which is traditionally broadcasted live on TV worldwide. Mojca Erdmann is a regular guest at the Bavarian State Opera Munich, the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, the Hamburg State Opera, the Theater an der Wien and the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin. She appeared as Zerlina (Don Giovanni) and Despina (Così fan tutte) in gala performances as part of the Mozart cycle alongside Rolando Villazón and under the baton of Yannick Nézet-Séguin at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden. Zerlina was also the role she portrayed in 2013 in her debut at the Teatro Real in Madrid. At the Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam the soprano sang the role of Blondchen in Mozart’s Die Entführung aus dem Serail, and at the Aix-en-Provence Festival she sang the Waldvogel in Siegfried with the Berlin Philharmonic under Sir Simon Rattle. Since her debut at the Salzburg Festival in 2006 in the title role of Mozart’s Zaide under Ivor Bolton, Mojca Erdmann has returned as Zelmira in Haydn’s Armida and as Sophie in a new production of Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier. In 2013 she also sang a series of world premieres with the Scharoun Ensemble as part of the Festival.

Mojca Erdmann regularly appears in concerts and recitals around the world – for example at the Schubertiade in Vilabertran and in the Berlin Boulezsaal, where she made her debut in 2018 with a Schubert evening. She is a regular guest in Japan and gives sold-out recitals for example in Tokyo with harpist Xavier de Maistre, pianists Götz Payer and Malcolm Martineau and tours with the Bach Collegium Japan. She sings in prestigious concert halls such as the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Philharmonies in Cologne and Berlin, the Alte Oper Frankfurt (where she was Artist in Residence from 2012-13), the Musikverein and the Konzerthaus in Vienna, at the Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, the Tonhalle Zurich, Jones Hall of the Houston Symphony or the Berlin Konzerthaus. Mojca Erdmann has appeared repeatedly at the Salzburg Mozart Week, the Kissinger Summer, with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra or the Munich Philharmonic. In 2019 she appeared in concert performances of Fidelio with the NHK Symphony Orchestra under Paavo Järvi in Tokyo. At the renowned Enescu Festival in Bucharest Mojca Erdmann sang a Mozart programme together with Rolando Villazón before she interpreted Schoenberg’s Erwartung for the first time on tour with the Basque National Orchestra in Northern Spain. In Örebro she made her debut with the Swedish Chamber Orchestra and sang orchestra songs by Richard Strauss with the Heidelberg Philharmonic Orchestra.

 

An unusually versatile performer, Mojca Erdmann is much sought after for her interpretation of contemporary music: She made her debut with the Berlin Staatsoper in the world premiere of Takemitsu – My Way of Life, conducted by Kent Nagano. In 2009, she performed the title role in Wolfgang Rihm’s monodrama Proserpina and the following year Rihm entrusted her with the lead soprano role in his new opera Dionysos, which saw its world premiere at the Salzburg Festival in 2010. Likewise, in 2012, she premiered Rodion Schchedrin’s Cleopatra and the Snake at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival, conducted by Valery Gergiev. Mojca Erdmann sang in the world premiere of Miroslva Srnka’s new opera South Pole alongside Thomas Hampson and Rolando Villazón at the Bayerische Staatsoper Munich as well as the role of Claudia in Toshio Hosokawa‘s Stilles Meer at the Staatsoper Hamburg, under the baton of  Kent Nagano. She performed at the Mozartwoche Salzburg (Beat Furrer’s Spazio immergente), the Ultraschall Festival in Berlin (works by Daj Fujikura and Harrison Birtwistle), and sang the world premiere of Wolfgang Rihm’s Requiem-Strophen under Mariss Jansons in Munich and Lucerne.

Mojca Erdmann can be heard on many recordings, including an acclaimed version of Mahler’s Symphony No 4 with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra under Jonathan Nott released by Tudor and in Ravel’s L’enfant et les sortilèges with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Sir Simon Rattle, released by Sony. In 2011, RCA released a recording of Wolf´s Italian Songbook which featured Mojca Erdmann, Christian Gerhaher and Gerold Huber. In 2009, the soprano signed an exclusive agreement with Deutsche Grammophon, with the first solo recording, Mozart´s Garden, featuring arias by Mozart and his contemporaries, having been released in 2011. She can be heard as Zerlina and Despina respectively on Deutsche Grammophon’s recently released complete recordings of Don Giovanni and Così fan tutte, both conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

News

Stay healthy and have a good start to the new year 2021!

Season's Greetings!
More

Mojca Erdmann: “Die Schneekönigin” wins the Supersonic Award

"Die Schneekönigin" wins the Supersonic Award, with soprano Mojca Erdmann in the main role. Congratulation!
More

Mojca Erdmann: Opera “Quartett” at the State Opera Berlin

Soprano Mojca Erdmann sings the role of Marquise de Merteuil in "Quartett" in October.
More

Pictures

Mojca Erdmann

Sopran

Biographie

Die in Hamburg geborene Sopranistin Mojca Erdmann zählt zu den vielseitigsten Künstlerinnen der internationalen Musikszene und wird von Kritikern und ihrem Publikum gleichermaßen gefeiert. Über ihre Rückkehr an die Metropolitan Opera 2012 schreibt die New York Times “Mojca Erdmann verkörperte Susanna gleichzeitig mit einer süßen und verführerischen Stimme sowie mit einer nüchternen Ernsthaftigkeit”. Die Sopranistin ist bekannt für ihr breit gefächertes Repertoire, das von Barock bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik reicht und ist weltweit in allen wichtigen Opernhäusern, Festivals und Konzertsälen zu erleben.

Kontakt

Maibrit Mahrhauser
Senior Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1761
Klara Maria Taube
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1759

Biographie

Die in Hamburg geborene Sopranistin Mojca Erdmann zählt zu den vielseitigsten Künstlerinnen der internationalen Musikszene und wird von Kritikern und ihrem Publikum gleichermaßen gefeiert. Die Sopranistin ist bekannt für ihr breit gefächertes Repertoire, das von Barock bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik reicht und ist weltweit in allen wichtigen Opernhäusern, Festivals und Konzertsälen zu erleben.

Die Spielzeit 2020/21 steht im Fokus einiger äußerst spannender Werke: so beginnt Mojca Erdmann die Saison mit Luca Francesconis zwei Personen Stück Quartett, das auf dem gleichnamigen Schauspiel von Heiner Müller basiert. Die deutsche Fassung wird unter der Leitung von Daniel Barenboim an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin uraufgeführt, wo die Sopranistin zu Ende der Spielzeit auch als Seele in Frank Widmanns Babylon zu erleben ist. Am Opernhaus Zürich debütiert Mojca Erdmann als Klara/Therese in einer Neuproduktion von Roman Haubenstock-Ramatis Amerika, nach dem gleichnamigen Roman von Franz Kafka. Die Vielseitigkeit der Sopranistin zeigt sich weiters auf der Konzertbühne: So ist sie 20/21 zunächst mit Mozart Arien zusammen mit der Akademie für Alte Musik im Rahmen der Mozartwoche on Tour im Pierre-Boulez-Saal in Berlin zu hören, mit Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium im Leipziger Gewandhaus und als Barmherzigkeit in Mozarts Die Schuldigkeit des ersten Gebots im Abschlusskonzert der Salzburger Mozartwoche. Mozart führt Mojca Erdmann nach Oslo, bevor sie gleich zweifach in den Boulez-Saal nach Berlin zurückkehrt: mit Schönbergs Pierrot Lunaire unter der Leitung von Thomas Guggeis und mit Crumbs Ancient Voices of Children unter der Leitung von Zubin Mehta. Ihr Debüt mit Richard Strauss‘ Vier letzten Liedern gibt die Sopranistin mit dem Symphonieorchester Hof.

Höhepunkte der vergangenen Spielzeiten beinhalten ihr Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera New York als Zerlina (Don Giovanni) und Waldvogel (Siegfried), von Deutsche Grammophon auf DVD veröffentlicht, sowie ihr Rollendebüt in Bergs Lulu 2012. Die Neuproduktion der Staatsoper Berlin mit der Regie von Andrea Breth und dem Dirigat von Daniel Barenboim erschien ebenfalls auf DVD bei DG. Lulu avancierte zu einer ihrer Paraderollen und so sang sie eine Neuproduktion von William Kentridge an der Oper Amsterdam und Christoph Marthalers preisgekrönte Inszenierung der Hamburgischen Staatsoper. 2014 sang Mojca Erdmann im Rahmen der berühmten Spielzeiteröffnung der Mailänder Scala, die traditionell weltweit live im TV übertragen wird, Marzelline in einer Neuproduktion von Beethovens Fidelio. Mojca Erdmann gastiert regelmäßig an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, dem Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, der Staatsoper Hamburg, am Theater an der Wien und der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin. Sie war als Zerlina (Don Giovanni) und Despina (Così fan tutte) in Gala-Vorstellungen im Rahmen des Mozart-Zyklus an der Seite von Rolando Villazón und unter der Leitung von Yannick Nézet-Séguin am Festspielhaus Baden-Baden zu hören. Zerlina war auch die Partie, die sie 2013 bei ihrem Debüt am Teatro Real in Madrid verkörperte. An der Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam war die Sopranistin als Blondchen in Mozarts Die Entführung aus dem Serail, beim Festival Aix-en-Provence den Waldvogel im Siegfried mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Sir Simon Rattle zu hören. Seit ihrem Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2006 in der Titelpartie von Mozarts Zaide unter Ivor Bolton, kehrte Mojca Erdmann u.a. als Zelmira in Haydns Armida und sowie als Sophie in einer Neuproduktion von Strauss‘ Der Rosenkavalier zurück. 2013 sang sie außerdem im Rahmen der Festspiele eine Reihe von Weltpremieren mit dem Scharoun Ensemble.

Mojca Erdmann singt weltweit Konzerte und Liederabende – zum Beispiel bei der Schubertiade in Vilabertran und im Berliner Boulezsaal, wo sie 2018 mit einem Schubert-Abend debütierte. Sie ist regelmäßig zu Gast in Japan und gibt zum Beispiel mit dem Harfenisten Xavier de Maistre, den Pianisten Götz Payer und Malcolm Martineau ausverkaufte Liederabende in Tokyo und tourt mit dem Bach Collegium Japan. Sie singt in renommierten Konzertsälen wie dem Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, den Philharmonien in Köln und Berlin, der Alten Oper Frankfurt (wo sie von 2012-13 Artist in Residence war) dem Musikverein und dem Konzerthaus in Wien, bei der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, in der Tonhalle Zürich, in Jones Hall der Houston Symphony oder im Berliner Konzerthaus. Mojca Erdmann ist wiederholt bei der Salzburger Mozartwoche, dem Kissinger Sommer, mit dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra oder den Münchner Philharmonikern zu erleben. Mit konzertanten Aufführungen von Fidelio war sie 2019 mit dem NHK Symphony Orchestra unter Paavo Järvi in Tokio zu hören. Beim renommierten Enescu Festival in Bukarest sang sie gemeinsam mit Rolando Villazón ein Mozart Programm, bevor sie mit dem Baskischen Nationalorchester erstmals Schönbergs Erwartung auf einer Tour durch Nordspanien interpretierte. In Örebro debütierte sie mit dem Swedish Chamber Orchestra und sang Orchesterlieder von Richard Strauss mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester Heidelberg.

Mojca Erdmann ist für ihre Interpretationen zeitgenössischer Musiktheaterwerke sehr gefragt: Ihr Debüt an der Berliner Staatsoper gab sie in der Uraufführung der Produktion Takemitsu – My Way of Life unter der Leitung von Kent Nagano. 2009 sang sie die Titelrolle in Wolfgang Rihms eigens für sie geschriebenem Monodrama Proserpina. Rihm betraute sie ebenfalls mit dem ersten Sopran in seiner Oper Dionysos, die bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2010 uraufgeführt wurde und 2012 ihre Deutschlandpremiere an der Staatsoper Berlin erlebte. 2012 gestaltete sie die Weltpremiere von Rodion Shchedrins Kleopatra und die Schlange bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen mit dem Dirigenten Valery Gergiev. Brett Deans From Melodious Lay sang Mojca Erdmann als Ophelia unter anderem in Kopenhagen mit dem Dänischen Rundfunkorchester und dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich. Von Toshio Hosokawa interpretierte sie 2018 an der Hamburger Staatsoper Stilles Meer und 2019 wurde sie für ihre Rolle in Widmanns monumentaler Oper Babylon an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden hoch gelobt.

Mojca Erdmann ist auf zahlreichen Studioaufnahmen vertreten, wie z. B. der vielfach ausgezeichneten Aufnahme von Mahlers 4. Sinfonie mit den Bamberger Symphonikern unter Jonathan Nott, oder Ravels L’enfant et les sortilèges mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Sir Simon Rattle, erschienen bei Sony. 2011 veröffentlichte RCA eine Aufnahme von Wolfs Italienischem Liederbuch mit Mojca Erdmann, Christian Gerhaher und Gerold Huber. Im Sommer 2009 unterschrieb Mojca Erdmann einen Exklusivvertrag bei der Deutschen Grammophon, ihr erstes Soloalbum mit Arien von Mozart und Mozarts Zeitgenossen erschien 2011 unter dem Titel Mozart’s Garden. Auf den weiteren bei DG erschienenen Aufnahmen von Don Giovanni und Così fan tutte – beide unter der Leitung von Yannick Nézet-Séguin – ist sie in den Rollen der Zerlina und der Despina zu hören.

Aktuelles

Bleiben Sie gesund und starten Sie gut in das neue Jahr 2021

Season's Greetings!
Mehr

Mojca Erdmann: „Die Schneekönigin“ gewinnt den Supersonic Award

"Die Schneekönigin" gewinnt den Supersonic Award, mit der Sopranistin Mojca Erdmann in der Hauptrolle. Gratulation!
Mehr

Mojca Erdmann: Oper „Quartett“ an der Staatsoper Berlin

Sopranistin Mojca Erdmann singt im Oktober die Rolle der Marquise de Merteuil in "Quartett".
Mehr

Bilder