Dmitry Korchak

Tenor & Conductor

Biography

Russian tenor Dmitry Korchak is not only one of the most exciting and sought-after voices of his generation, acclaimed by critics worldwide and regarded as one of today’s best performers of bel canto repertoire, but also a sought after conductor. In 2017 he was named Chief Guest conductor of the The State Academic Novosibirsk Theatre of Russia.

Contact

Maibrit Mahrhauser
Senior Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1761
Klara Maria Taube
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1759

Full Biography

Russian tenor Dmitry Korchak is one of the most exciting and sought-after voices of his generation acclaimed by critics worldwide and regarded as one of today’s best performers of bel canto repertoire. After winning the Francisco Viñas International Singing Competition in Barcelona and two prizes (4th Prize and the Zarzuela Prize) at Plácido Domingo’s Operalia Competition in Los Angeles – both in 2004 – Dmitry Korchak has rapidly become a regular guest at the world’s most renowned opera houses and concert venues.

The 2020/21 season marks appearances in signature roles and exciting role debuts for Dmitry Korchak: he returns to the Vienna State Opera for performances of Don Pasquale and as well as the Teatre del Liceu Barcelona for his role debut as Alfredo in La Traviata. Another role debut as Rodolfo in La Bohème takes him to the Berliner Staatsoper, before singing Werther in Budapest and a concert performance of Il Pirata at the KlangVokal Festival in Dortmund. The season ends at the Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro, where Korchak conducts a new production Il Signore Bruschino. As a conductor he leads guest performances of this production of the Rossini Opera Festival at the Royal Opera House Muscat, Oman and concerts in Budapest.

Highlights of the past seasons include jumping in last minute in the title role of Les Contes d’Hoffmann at the Vienna State Opera, with stunning success as well as performances of John Neumeier’s appraised Orphée et Eurydice in the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and at the Hamburg State Opera. At the Teatro Real, Madrid, he made his role debut as Gualtiero in Bellini’s Il Pirata with great acclaim. Dmitry Korchak sang Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) at the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía in Valencia and made his role debut as Robert in Meyerbeer’s Robert le Diable at La Monnaie in Brussels, under Evelino Pidò’s baton. At Barcelona’s Gran Teatre del Liceu he performed Nadir (Les Pêcheurs de Perles), at the Vienna State Opera Ernesto (Don Pasquale). With Chicago Lyric Opera, he starred as Orphée (Orphée et Eurydice), as Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni) at the Estates Theater in Prague for the Domingo Prague Mozart Festival, under the baton of Plácido Domingo (the production was released on DVD) and as Arturo in I Puritani at the Vienna State Opera. He made two highly anticipated role debuts: the title role of Offenbach’s Les Contes d’Hoffmann in Tokyo and as Arnauld in Rossini’s Guillaume Tell at the Teatro Massimo di Palermo.

Dmitry Korchak made his debut at the Vienna State Opera as Nemorino (L’Elisir d’Amore) in 2008 and since then returned as Lensky (Eugene Onegin) alongside Anna Netrebko as Tatiana, Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni), and as Conte d’Almaviva in Rossini’s Il Barbiere di Siviglia, Don Ramiro (La Cenerentola), in the title role of Massnet’s Werther and as Ernesto (Don Pasquale). Rossini’s Conte d’Almaviva took Dmitry Korchak to the Teatro Real Madrid and the State Operas in Berlin and Hamburg, the Teatro Regio di Parma and the Teatro Massimo di Palermo, the Operas in Marseille and Toulouse as well as the Los Angeles Opera. At the Opéra de Lyon and at the Palau de les Arts Valencia he starred in the title role of Le Comte Ory.

At the Teatro alla Scala in Milan Dmitry Korchak made his debut in the part Camille de Roussilon (The Merry Widow) and returned as Conte di Libenskopf (Il viaggio a Reims). Further roles include Nadir (Les Pêcheurs de Perles) with Opera Australia, the Opéra Comique Paris, the Opera Nacional de Chile, the Theater an der Wien and the Teatro di San Carlo in Naples. At the Bavarian State Opera he performed Nemorino (L’Elisir d’Amore) and returned as Don Ottavio. At the Opéra National de Paris Dmitry Korchak could be heard as Nemorino, Ferrando in Così fan tutte and as Lord Arturo Talbot (I Puritani). A role he also performed at the Teatro Regio di Torino, the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris and the Opéra de Lyon. He further gave guest performances with the Hamburg State Opera (Tonio in La Fille du Regiment), Cologne Opera (Duca in Rigoletto), the Semperoper Dresden (Fernand in La Favorite), Zurich Opera (Tamino in Die Zauberflöte), Opera La Monnaie Brussels (Tamino), Teatro San Carlo (Fenton in Verdi’s Falstaff), the Royal Opera House Covent Garden (Nemorino) and the Netherlands Opera in Amsterdam (Nemorino). With the New National Theatre in Tokyo Dmitry Korchak sang the title role in Massenet’s Werther and Ferrando in Così fan tutte. As Endimione in Vicente Martin y Soler’s L’Arbore di Diana he was heard at the Teatro Real Madrid and the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia.

Dmitry Korchak is a regular guest of the Rossini Festival in Pesaro. Since his debut as Ermanno in L’Equivoco stravagante in 2008, he returned as Osiride (Mose in Egitto), Giacomo (La Donna del lago), Gernando/Carlo in Armida as well as in recitals, singing the tenor solo in Rossini’s Le petite messe solenelle, amongst others. He also performed at the Kissinger Sommer in Germany. In 2009 he made his debut with the Salzburg Whitsun Festival, singing the title role of Niccolò Jommeli’s Demofoonte under the baton of Riccardo Muti, a production that was also shown at the Ravenna Festival in 2009, and returned as Cami in Betulia liberata by Jommeli in 2010.

Dmitry Korchak was born in Russia and studied both conducting and singing. Starting in 2014, he returned to his initial specialization – conducting. Since then he performed with different programs in Europe, the Easter Festival of Valery Gergiev, at the Great Hall of Moscow Philharmony, with the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia (artistic director and chief conductor – Vladimir Spivakov) at the Moscow International House of Music he led Rossini’s Stabat Mater, also being recorded and published on DVD. He also conducted the piece at the Rossini Festival in Pesaro in summer 2016. In summer 2020 he conducted Il Cambiale di Matrimonio in Pesaro, at the Novaya Opera Theatre he led La Cenerentola in 2019, as well as several gala concerts in Russia.

From 2017-2020 Dmitry Korchak was Principal Guest Conductor at Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre, where he had his own Festival, as well as Guest Conductor at Mikhailovsky Theatre of St. Petersburg. The Artist conducted the Inauguration of the new concert hall at Novosibirsk Opera Theatre with Rossini’s Stabat Mater starring Lawrence Brownlee, Rene Pape, Veronica Dzhioeva and Julia Matochkina. During previous seasons Mr Korchak has conducted different oratorial and choir programs as well as such operas as Aida, L’Elisir d’Amore, La Juive, Carmen, Il Barbiere di Siviglia as well as different gala concerts.

Dmitry Korchak is represented on a broad number of CDs and DVDs. Complete recordings of Il Barbiere di Siviglia, Mose in Egitto, L’Equivoco stravagante, Corrado d’Altamura, Eugene Onegin, La Gazza ladra, Don Giovanni, Le Comte Ory and Les Pecheurs de Perles are available on various labels. He also released three solo albums: “Recollection” includes Russian folk and choral music, the second album “Rendezvous” is a collection of Russian romances. His “Belcanto Rarities” were released lately by DECCA and feature a collection of the most beautiful arias of the bel canto repertoire by Bellini, Donizetti, Mozart and of course Rossini. The renowned label released his second solo album “Romantique” in 2020, featuring arias from the French Grand Opera.

 

News

Dmitry Korchak: “Don Pasquale” at the Vienna State Opera

Tenor Dmitry Korchak sings the role of Ernesto in the opera "Don Pasquale" at the Vienna State Opera. This Opera Buffa by Gaetano Donizetti is one of the most famous in the world.
More

Pictures

Videos

Dmitry Korchak Tenor Recital
Dmitry Korchak. "Werther" - Pourquoi me réveiller...Wiener Staatsoper 28.09.2018

Dmitry Korchak

Tenor & Dirigent

Biographie

Der russische Tenor Dmitry Korchak ist einer der aufregendsten und gefragtesten Tenöre seiner Generation und wird regelmäßig von der internationalen Presse vor allem für seine Interpretationen im Bel Canto Repertoire hoch gelobt. Seit er 2004 den Francisco Viñas Internationalen Gesangswettbewerb gewann und zwei Preise (den 4. Platz sowie den Zarzuela Preis) bei Plácido Domingos Operalia Wettbewerb in Los Angeles für sich sichern konnte, hat sich Dmitry Korchak schnell als ein regelmäßiger Gast der renommierten Opern- und Konzerthäuser weltweit etabliert.

Kontakt

Maibrit Mahrhauser
Senior Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1761
Klara Maria Taube
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1759

Biographie

Der russische Tenor Dmitry Korchak ist einer der aufregendsten und gefragtesten Tenöre seiner Generation und wird regelmäßig von der internationalen Presse vor allem für seine Interpretationen im Bel Canto Repertoire hoch gelobt. Seit er 2004 den Francisco Viñas Internationalen Gesangswettbewerb gewann und zwei Preise (den 4. Platz sowie den Zarzuela Preis) bei Plácido Domingos Operalia Wettbewerb in Los Angeles für sich sichern konnte, hat sich Dmitry Korchak schnell als ein regelmäßiger Gast der renommierten Opern- und Konzerthäuser weltweit etabliert.

In der Spielzeit steht ein Wechselspiel aus Paraderollen sowie spannenden Rollendebüts in Dmitry Korchaks Kalender: so kehrt er als Ernesto in Don Pasquale an die Wiener Staatsoper zurück und debütiert als Alfredo (La Traviata) am Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona. Sein Debüt als Rodolfo in Puccinis La Bohème gibt der Tenor an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin, singt die Titelpartie in Massenets Werther im Erkeltheater in Budapest sowie eine konzertante Vorstellung als Gualtier in Bellinis Il Pirata beim KlangVokal Festival des WDR im Konzerthaus Dortmund.  Er beendet die Saison, diesmal als Dirigent, beim Rossini Opera Festival Pesaro, wo er Il Signore Bruschino leitet. Seine rege Dirigentenkarriere führt Dmitry Korchak mit einem Gastspiel von Il Cambiale di Matrimonio aus Pesaro früher in der Spielzeit noch ans Royal Opera House Muscat im Oman. Auch auf der Konzertbühne ist der gebürtige Russe ein gefragter Gast, so ist Dmitry Korchak u.a. mit Konzerten als Sänger und Dirigent in Budapest und Moskau zu erleben.

Höhepunkte der vergangenen Spielzeiten beinhalten sein kurzfristiges und sehr erfolgreiches Einspringen an der Wiener Staatsoper für die Rolle des romantischen Titelhelden in Offenbachs Les Contes de Hoffmann, ebenso wie die Aufführungen von John Neumeiers hoch geschätzter Orphée et Eurydice im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und an der Hamburger Staatsoper. Am Teatro Real Madrid gab er mit großem Erfolg sein Rollendebüt als Gualtiero in Bellinis Il Pirata. Dmitry Korchak sang Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) am Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía in Valencia und gab sein Rollendebüt als Robert in Meyerbeers Robert le Diable in La Monnaie in Brüssel unter der musikalischen Leitung von Evelino Pidò. Am Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona sang er Nadir (Les Pêcheurs de Perles) und an der Wiener Staatsoper Ernesto (Don Pasquale). An der Chicago Lyric Opera war er als Orphée (Orphée et Eurydice), als Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni), als Arturo in I Puritani an der Wiener Staatsoper und am Ständetheater Prag im Rahmen des Domingo Prague Mozart Festivals, unter der Leitung von Plácido Domingo (die Produktion wurde auf DVD veröffentlicht) zu sehen. Er gab zwei mit Spannung erwartete Rollendebüts: die Titelpartie von Offenbachs Les Contes d’Hoffmann in Tokio und die Rolle des Arnauld in Rossinis Guillaume Tell am Teatro Massimo di Palermo.

Seit seinem Debüt an der Wiener Staatsoper als Nemorino (L’Elisir d’amore) im Jahr 2008, ist Dmitry Korchak unzählige Male ans Haus am Ring zurückgekrht: als Lenski (Eugen Onegin) neben Anna Netrebko in der Partie der Tatiana, als Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni), als Conte d’Almaviva in Rossinis Il Barbiere di Siviglia sowie als Don Ramiro (La Cenerentola) und Ernesto (Don Pasquale). Rossinis Conte d’Almaviva führte ihn auch ans Teatro Real Madrid, an die Berliner und die Hamburger Staatsoper, das Teatro Regio di Parma und das Teatro Massimo di Palermo sowie an die Opernhäuser von Marseille und Toulouse und die LA Opera. An der Opéra de Lyon sang er Le Comte Ory in Rossinis gleichnamiger Oper, am Palau de les Arts Valencia Don Ramiro sowie Lenski und Don Ottavio.

An der Scala in Mailand debütierte Dmitry Korchak als Camille de Roussillon (Die Lustige Witwe) und kehrte als Conte di Libenskopf (Il viaggio a Reims) zurück. Weitere Opernengagements führten ihn als Nadir (Les Pêcheurs de Perles) an die Opera Australia, die Opéra Comique Paris, die Opera Nacional de Chile, das Theater an der Wien und das Teatro di San Carlo in Neapel. An der Bayerischen Staatsoper sang er Nemorino und Don Ottavio. An der Opéra National de Paris stand er als Nemorino, Ferrando (Così fan tutte) und als Lord Arturo Talbot (I Puritani) auf der Bühne. Diese Rolle sang er auch am Teatro Regio di Torino, am Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris und an der Opéra de Lyon. Weitere Gastengagements hatte er an der Hamburger Staatsoper (Tonio in La Fille du Regiment), Kölner Oper (Duca in Rigoletto), der Dresdner Semperoper (Fernand in La Favorite), dem Zürcher Opernhaus (Tamino in Die Zauberflöte), am Teatre La Monnaie in Brüssel (ebenfalls Tamino), am Teatro San Carlo (Fenton in Verdi’s Falstaff) am Royal Opera House Covent Garden sowie am Opernhaus in Amsterdam (Nemorino).  Dmitry Korchak sang die Hauptrolle in Massenet’s Werther und Ferrando in Così fan tutte im New National Theatre in Tokio. Als Endimione in Vicente Martin y Solers L’Arbore di Diana konnte man ihn am Teatro Real Madrid und am Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia bewundern.

Dmitry Korchak ist regelmäßiger Gast beim Rossini Festival in Pesaro. Seit seinem Debut 2008 als Ermanno in L’Equivoco stravagante stand er dort auch unter anderem als Osiride (Mose in Egitto), Giacomo (La Donna del lago), Gernando/Carlo in Armida sowie als Solist in Rossinis Le petite messe solenelle auf der Bühne. Auch beim Kissinger Sommer gastierte er mehrfach. 2009 war er das erste Mal bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen als Titelheld in Niccolò Jommeli’s Demofoonte unter der Leitung von Riccardo Muti dabei – die Produktion wurde auch beim Ravenna Festival 2009 aufgeführt – und kehrte 2010 als Cami in Betulia liberata von Jommeli zurück.

Dmitry Korchak wurde in Russland geboren und studierte dort Gesang und Dirigat. Ab 2014 kehrte er zu seiner ersten Spezialisierung – dem Dirigieren – zurück. Seitdem trat er mit verschiedenen Programmen in Europa auf, wie beim Osterfestival von Valery Gergiev, im Großen Saal der Moskauer Philharmonie, mit dem Nationalen Philharmonischen Orchester Russlands (künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent – Vladimir Spivakov) leitete er Rossinis Stabat Mater im Moskauer Internationalen Haus der Musik, welches ebenfalls aufgenommen und auf DVD veröffentlicht wurde. Er dirigierte das Werk auch beim Rossini-Festival in Pesaro im Sommer 2016. Im Sommer 2020 dirigierte er Il Cambiale di Matrimonio in Pesaro, am Novaya Opera Theatre leitete er 2019 La Cenerentola sowie mehrere Galakonzerte in Russland.

Dmitry Korchak war von 2017-2020 Erster Gastdirigent am Nowosibirsker Opern- und Balletttheater, wo er sein eigenes Festival leitete, sowie Gastdirigent am Michailowskij-Theater in St. Petersburg. Der Künstler dirigierte die Eröffnung des neuen Konzertsaals des Nowosibirsker Operntheaters mit Rossinis Stabat Mater mit Lawrence Brownlee, René Pape, Veronica Dzhioeva und Julia Matochkina als Solisten. Der Künstler hat in den vergangenen Spielzeiten verschiedene Oratorien- und Chorprogramme und Opern wie Aida, L’Elisir d’Amore, La Juive, Carmen, Il Barbiere di Siviglia und verschiedene Galakonzerte dirigiert.

Dmitry Korchak ist auf zahlreichen Audio- und Videoaufnahmen vertreten. Gesamtaufnahmen von Il Barbiere di Siviglia, Mose in Egitto, L’Equivoco stravagante, Corrado d’Altamura, Eugen Onegin, La Gazza ladra, Don Giovanni, Le Comte Ory und Les Pecheurs de Perles sind bei verschiedenen Labels erschienen. Er hat drei Solo Alben veröffentlicht: „Recollection“ widmet sich der russischen Volksmusik und das zweite Album „Rendezvous“ ist eine Sammlung russischer Romanzen. Seine „Belcanto Raritäten“ wurden vor kurzem bei DECCA veröffentlicht und enthalten eine Sammlung der schönsten Arien des Belcanto-Repertoires von Bellini, Donizetti, Mozart und natürlich Rossini. Das renommierte Label veröffentlichte 2020 sein zweites Soloalbum „Romantique“ mit Arien aus der französischen Grand Opera.

Aktuelles

Dmitry Korchak: „Don Pasquale“ an der Wiener Staatsoper

Tenor Dmitry Korchak wird in der Oper "Don Pasquale" die Rolle des Ernesto an der Wiener Staatsoper singen.
Mehr

Bilder

Videos

Dmitry Korchak Tenor Recital
Dmitry Korchak. "Werther" - Pourquoi me réveiller...Wiener Staatsoper 28.09.2018