Gidon Saks

Bass-Baritone

Biography

Praised for his “fierce, emotionally ripe performances” (Financial Times), which offer a “wealth of nuance” (Opera), Gidon Saks is renowned for his interpretations of the dramatic bass-baritone repertoire. His signature roles include Bluebeard (Bluebeard’s Castle), Nick Shadow (The Rake’s Progress), Claggart (Billy Budd), Kaspar (Der Freischütz), Don Pizarro (Fidelio) and Scarpia (Tosca). He is a […]

Contact

Liliia Salpeter
Associate Artist Manager

+49 171 9150 336

Full Biography

Praised for his “fierce, emotionally ripe performances” (Financial Times), which offer a “wealth of nuance” (Opera), Gidon Saks is renowned for his interpretations of the dramatic bass-baritone repertoire. His signature roles include Bluebeard (Bluebeard’s Castle), Nick Shadow (The Rake’s Progress), Claggart (Billy Budd), Kaspar (Der Freischütz), Don Pizarro (Fidelio) and Scarpia (Tosca). He is a regular guest at many of the world’s most prestigious opera houses including Deutsche Oper Berlin, Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Komische Oper Berlin, Opéra National de Paris, Bergen National Opera, Washington National Opera and Teatro La Fenice. In the 2022/23 season, Saks takes part in a world premiere of Salvatore Sciarrino’s opera Venere e Adone at Hamburg State Opera.

Recent highlights include King of France in Calixto Bieto’s production of Reimann’s Lear with Opéra National de Paris; Pangloss in Bernstein’s Candide with Bergen National Opera; John Claggart in multiple productions of Britten’s Billy Budd, including by David Alden and Annilese Miskimmon; his first Orest in Elektra for Bordeaux; the title role in Robert Carsen’s production of Battistelli’s Richard III for La Fenice (winner of the Abbiati Prize for best production in Italy); the Villains in Offenbach’s Les contes d’Hoffmann for the Royal Danish Opera; reprising the role of Bottom in Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream for the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence at the Beijing Music Festival; and the title role in Bartok’s Bluebeard’s Castle with both Teatro La Fenice and Concerto Budapest and András Keller, opposite Petra Lang as Judith.

Equally in demand on the concert platform, Saks has performed Creon in Oedipus Rex and Hermit in Der Freischütz with the London Symphony Orchestra (both recorded for LSO Live); King Marke in Tristan und Isolde at Festival de Opera de Coruña; König Heinrich in Lohengrin with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. He has worked with some of the most distinguished conductors of our time including Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Valery Gergiev, Donald Runnicles, Sir Neville Marriner, Daniel Harding, Sir Andrew Davies and the late Sir Colin Davis.

Saks can be heard in recording, including Abbott in Curlew River (Philips); the Gravedigger in Weill’s Silbersee (BMG); the title role in Handel’s Hercules conducted by Minkowski (Deutsche Grammophon); Handel’s Saul with Rene Jacobs, which won a Gramophone Award. Saks has also recorded John Claggart in Britten’s Billy Budd with the London Symphony Orchestra, which won a Grammy Award for the Best Opera Performance, and Schönberg’s Gurre-lieder with the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Susanna Mälkki.

Saks was born in Israel and brought up in South Africa. He trained at the Royal Northern College of Music, University of Toronto and subsequently Zurich Opera Studio. He was a visiting Professor of Voice at the Conservatoire of Ghent in Belgium. Offstage he is a dedicated director/designer and teacher.

© CSAM, July 2022

Pictures

Gidon Saks

Bassbariton

Biographie

Gidon Saks wird für seine „starken, emotional reifen Darbietungen“ (Financial Times) und sein „Reichtum an Nuancen“ (Opera) gelobt. Er ist bekannt für seine Interpretationen des dramatischen Bassbariton-Repertoires. Zu seinen Paraderollen gehören Blaubart (Bluebeard’s Castle), Nick Shadow (The Rake’s Progress), Claggart (Billy Budd), Kaspar (Der Freischütz), Don Pizarro (Fidelio) und Scarpia (Tosca). Er ist regelmäßiger Gast […]

Kontakt

Liliia Salpeter
Associate Artist Manager

+49 171 9150 336

Biographie

Gidon Saks wird für seine „starken, emotional reifen Darbietungen“ (Financial Times) und sein „Reichtum an Nuancen“ (Opera) gelobt. Er ist bekannt für seine Interpretationen des dramatischen Bassbariton-Repertoires. Zu seinen Paraderollen gehören Blaubart (Bluebeard’s Castle), Nick Shadow (The Rake’s Progress), Claggart (Billy Budd), Kaspar (Der Freischütz), Don Pizarro (Fidelio) und Scarpia (Tosca). Er ist regelmäßiger Gast an vielen der renommiertesten Opernhäuser der Welt, darunter die Deutsche Oper Berlin, die Komische Oper Berlin, die Opéra National de Paris, die Bergen National Opera, die Washington National Opera und das Teatro La Fenice. In der Spielzeit 2022/23 ist Saks in der Weltpremiere von Salvatore Sciarrinos Oper Venere e Adone an der Staatsoper Hamburg zu erleben.

Zu den jüngsten Höhepunkten seiner Bühnenkarriere zählen der König von Frankreich in Calixto Bietos Inszenierung von Reimanns Lear an der Opéra National de Paris; Pangloss in Bernsteins Candide an der Bergen National Opera; John Claggart in mehreren Inszenierungen von Brittens Billy Budd, unter anderem von David Alden und Annilese Miskimmon; sein erster Orest in Elektra für Bordeaux; die Titelrolle in Robert Carsens Inszenierung von Battistellis Richard III. für Teatro La Fenice (Gewinner des Abbiati-Preises für die beste Inszenierung in Italien); die Bösewichte in Offenbachs Les contes d’Hoffmann für die Königliche Dänische Oper; die Wiederaufnahme der Rolle des Bottom in Brittens Ein Sommernachtstraum für das Festival d’Aix-en-Provence beim Beijing Music Festival; und die Titelrolle in Bartoks Herzog Blaubarts Burg mit dem Teatro La Fenice und Concerto Budapest unter der Leitung von András Keller, zusammen mit Petra Lang als Judith.

Auch auf dem Konzertpodium ist Saks sehr gefragt: Er sang den Creon in Oedipus Rex und den Eremiten in Der Freischütz mit dem London Symphony Orchestra (beide Aufnahmen für LSO Live), König Marke in Tristan und Isolde beim Festival de Opera de Coruña und König Heinrich in Lohengrin mit dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Er hat mit einigen der bedeutendsten Dirigenten unserer Zeit zusammengearbeitet: darunter Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Valery Gergiev, Donald Runnicles, Sir Neville Marriner, Daniel Harding, Sir Andrew Davies und der verstorbene Sir Colin Davis.

Saks ist auf zahlreichen Aufnahmen zu hören, darunter Abbott in Curlew River (Philips); der Totengräber in Weills Silbersee (BMG); die Titelrolle in Händels Hercules unter der Leitung von Minkowski (Deutsche Grammophon); Händels Saul mit Rene Jacobs, der einen Grammophone Award gewann. Saks hat auch John Claggart in Brittens Billy Budd mit dem London Symphony Orchestra aufgenommen, das einen Grammy Award für die beste Opernaufführung erhielt, sowie Schönbergs Gurre-lieder mit dem Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra unter der Leitung von Susanna Mälkki.

Saks wurde in Israel geboren und wuchs in Südafrika auf. Er erhielt seine Ausbildung am Royal Northern College of Music, an der Universität von Toronto und anschließend am Opernstudio Zürich. Er war Gastprofessor für Gesang am Konservatorium von Gent in Belgien. Abseits der Bühne ist er ein engagierter Regisseur/Designer und Lehrer.

 

© CSAM, August 2022

 

 

 

 

Bilder