Ildar Abdrazakov

Bass

Biography

Ildar Abdrazakov has established himself as one of opera’s most sought-after basses. Since making his debut at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan in 2001 at 25, the Russian native has become a mainstay at leading houses worldwide, including New York’s Metropolitan Opera, Paris National Opera, the Vienna State Opera and Munich’s Bavarian State Opera. His powerful yet refined voice coupled with his compelling stage presence have prompted critics to hail him as a “sensational bass … who has just about everything – imposing sound, beautiful legato, oodles of finesse” (The Independent).

Contact

Maibrit Mahrhauser
Senior Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1761
Arina Koreniushkina
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1763

Full Biography

Ildar Abdrazakov has established himself as one of opera’s most sought-after basses. Since making his debut at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan in 2001 at 25, the Russian native has become a mainstay at leading houses worldwide, including New York’s Metropolitan Opera, Paris National Opera, the Vienna State Opera and Munich’s Bavarian State Opera. His powerful yet refined voice coupled with his compelling stage presence have prompted critics to hail him as a “sensational bass … who has just about everything – imposing sound, beautiful legato, oodles of finesse” (The Independent). Being also an active concert artist, he has performed at London’s BBC Proms and at New York’s Carnegie Hall, as well as with leading international orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Vienna Philharmonic.

Ildar Abdrazakov conquers the 20-21 season as Filippo II in Verdi’s Don Carlo. He opens the season at the Bolshoi Theatre and returns to Berlin’s Deutsche Oper before appearing in a concert version with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, with Sir John Eliot Gradiner conducting. Another highlight of the season is a new production of Boris Godunov at Opera de Monte-Carlo, where the bass performs one of his signature roles. Besides that, he appears as Mephistopheles in new production of Faust at the Paris National Opera. On the concert stage, Ildar Abdrazakov can be heard in Verdi’s Messa da Requiem with Staatskapelle Berlin under the baton of Zubin Mehta. He can also be heard in solo recital with Mzia Bakhtouridze at Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal.

Ildar Abdrazakov has appeared with virtually every major opera company in the United States and Europe such as Madrid’s Teatro Real, the Gran Teatro del Liceu in Barcelona, the San Francisco Opera, the Washington National Opera and the Los Angeles Opera.

Since his house debut in Don Giovanni (2004) Ildar Abdrazakov has become a mainstay at the Metropolitan Opera. He headlined the gala opening of the company’s 2015-16 season in the title role in a new Sir Richard Eyre production of Le nozze di Figaro. Previously, he sang the title role in a new Dmitry Tcherniakov’s staging of Borodin’s Prince Igor – a performance captured on DVD and Blu-ray by Deutsche Grammophon. Other notable Met productions include his role debut as Henry VIII opposite Anna Netrebko in Anna Bolena, Dosifey in Mussorgsky’s Khovanshchina, Escamillo in two productions of Carmen, the title role of Attila under the baton of Riccardo Muti, the title role in Le Nozze di Figaro, Assur in Rossini’s Semiramide, Leoporello in Don Giovanni and most recently Banquo in Verdi’s Macbeth and Mephistopheles in Berlioz’s La Damnation de Faust.

Ildar Abdrazakov is a frequent guest at Teatro alla Scala in Milan, where he joined Riccardo Muti in concert for the reopening of the theatre in 2004-05 and sang Moses in a production of Rossini’s Moïse et Pharaon that was recorded and released on CD and DVD. In the 18-19 season, he starred as Verdi’s Attila in a season opening new production televised globally. He has also sung three solo recitals and Don Ruy da Silva in Verdi’s Ernani at the famous house. His many triumphant performances on one of the most prestigious opera stages has resulted in the award of the Franco Abbiati in the category “Best Singer”.

The bass made his Salzburg Festival debut in 2009 in a new production of Rossini’s Moïse et Pharaon. Since then, he has returned regularly, singing amongst others Méphistophélès in a new production of Faust, Mustafà alongside Cecilia Bartoli in the Festival’s new production of Rossini’s L’Italiana in Algeri and performances of Verdi’s Messa da Requiem conducted by Riccardo Muti.

His first appearance at London’s Royal Opera House in 2009 was made with Verdi’s Requiem in concert with Sir Antonio Pappano. Since then he returned there to sing Don Basilio in Rossini’s Il Barbiere di Siviglia and Filippo II in Verdi’s Don Carlo. The title role in Le Nozze di Figaro was the vehicle for Abdrazakov’s 1998 house debut at St. Petersburg’s Mariinsky Theatre. Among his other signature roles are both the title role and Leporello in Mozart’s Don Giovanni, Méphistophélès in Gounod’s Faust and Berlioz’s La damnation de Faust, Oroveso in Bellini’s Norma; Selim in Rossini’s Il Turco in Italia and Assur in his Semiramide. The Russian bass is noted for Verdi roles including Walter in Luisa Miller and the title character in Oberto and Attila, as well as Banquo in Macbeth and Filippo II in Don Carlo. The French version of this role took Ildar Abdrazakov to the Paris National Opera in 17-18, where he also made his triumphant debut in the title role of Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov, broadcast live in cinemas all over the world and sang Prince Igor in a new production by Barrie Kosky.

In 2018-19, Ildar Abdrazakov made his debut as a stage director in a production of Attila for Bashkir State Opera in which he also performed the title role.

On the concert stage, he has given recitals in Russia, Italy, Japan and the United States, and has performed with orchestras including the Orchestre Metropolitain, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Deutsches Symphony Orchester, the Bavarian Radio Symphony, the Rotterdam Philharmonic, the Orchestre National de France, the Orchestra Filarmonica della Scala and Rome’s Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. Among the noted conductors with whom he has collaborated are Riccardo Muti, Valery Gergiev, Sir Antonio Pappano, James Levine, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Gianandrea Noseda, Bertrand de Billy, Riccardo Frizza and Riccardo Chailly. In November and December 2017 Ildar Abdrazakov toured Europe with Rolando Villazón. The concerts in Prague, Berlin, Baden-Baden, Stuttgart, Munich, Paris and Vienna presented the repertoire of their first joint album “Duets”, featuring duets from Italian and French operas. The album was launched in September 2017 by Deutsche Grammophon.

Ildar Abdrazakov’s debut solo album Power Players, a celebration of the great Russian bass roles, was released in early 2014 on Delos, to great critical acclaim. His recording of Verdi’s Messa da Requiem with Riccardo Muti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra won a Grammy Award. He also has recorded unpublished arias by Rossini with Riccardo Chailly and the Symphony Orchestra of Milan, as well as Giuseppe Verdi for Decca, and Cherubini’s Mass with Muti and the Bayerischer Rundfunk for EMI Classics. For Chandos he has recorded Shostakovich’s Suite on Verses of Michelangelo and Rachmaninoff’s The Miserly Knight, both with Gianandrea Noseda and the BBC Philharmonic. In early 2017 Abdrazakov signed an exclusive contract with Deutsche Grammophon. His first solo album Verdi was released in summer 2019. The bass’s DVD releases include Moïse et Pharaon from La Scala, Oberto from Bilbao, Norma from Parma and Lucia di Lammermoor from the Metropolitan Opera. Marking the Verdi bicentennial, May 2013 saw Abdrazakov’s star turn in the title role of Attila immortalized on the Mariinsky label’s first DVD/Blu-ray release.

Abdrazakov was born in Ufa, the today’s capital of the republic of Bashkiria in Russia. Both of his parents were artists: his mother was a painter and his late father a director. At age four Abdrazakov began acting in his father’s stage and film productions, and these early experiences inspired him to pursue a career in the arts. Upon graduating from the Ufa State Institute of Arts, he joined the Bashkirian Opera and Ballet Theatre. In the late 1990s he won a string of prestigious vocal competitions: the Moscow Grand Prix named after Irina Arkhipova, the Glinka International Vocal Competition, the Rimsky-Korsakov International Competition, and the International Obraztsova competition. His 2000 win at the Maria Callas International Television Competition in Parma thrust him into the international spotlight and led to his debut at La Scala the following year.

Ildar Abdrazakov has his own foundation, created to support and promote young talented musicians. Since 2018 he is annually organizing festivals in Russia, inviting renowned singers to give concerts and masterclasses there. Since 2014, Ildar Abdrazakov is also Artistic Director of the Elena Obraztsova International Academy of Music.

News

Ildar Abdrazakov at Mariinsky Theatre Saint-Petersburg

Bass Ildar Abdrazakov sings "Attila" and "Méphistophélès" at the Mariinsky Theatre Saint-Petersburg.
More

Ildar Abdrazakov: “Boris Godunow” at the Opera Monte-Carlo

Bass Ildar Abdrazakov sings the leading role in the opera "Boris Godunow" by Modest Mussorgsky at the Opera Monte-Carlo.
More

Stay healthy and have a good start to the new year 2021!

Season's Greetings!
More

Pictures

Ildar Abdrazakov

Bass

Biographie

Ildar Abdrazakov hat sich als einer der gefragtesten Bässe überhaupt etabliert. Seit seinem Debüt an der Mailänder Scala mit nur 25 Jahren im Jahr 2001 gastiert er regelmäßig an allen wichtigen Opernhäusern der Welt, wie der Metropolitan Opera, der Wiener Staatsoper, der Opéra National de Paris und der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Seine kraftvolle kultivierte Stimme verbunden mit seiner fesselnden Bühnenpräsenz veranlasst Kritiker, ihn als „sensationellen Bass… der einfach alles hat – eindrucksvollen Klang, schönes Legato, eine Unmenge an Finesse” (Independent) zu loben.

Kontakt

Maibrit Mahrhauser
Senior Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1761
Arina Koreniushkina
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1763

Biographie

Ildar Abdrazakov hat sich als einer der gefragtesten Bässe überhaupt etabliert. Seit seinem Debüt an der Mailänder Scala mit nur 25 Jahren im Jahr 2001 gastiert er regelmäßig an allen wichtigen Opernhäusern der Welt, wie der Metropolitan Opera, der Wiener Staatsoper, der Opéra National de Paris und der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Seine kraftvolle kultivierte Stimme verbunden mit seiner fesselnden Bühnenpräsenz veranlasst Kritiker, ihn als „sensationellen Bass… der einfach alles hat – eindrucksvollen Klang, schönes Legato, eine Unmenge an Finesse” (Independent) zu loben. Als ebenso gefragter Konzertsänger gastierte Ildar Abdrazakov u.a. bei den BBC Proms und in der Carnegie Hall New York und arbeitet mit den bedeutendsten Dirigenten und Orchestern, wie den Wiener Philharmonikern und dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, zusammen.

Ildar Abdrazakov erobert die Saison 20-21 als Filippo II in Verdis Don Carlo: er eröffnet die Saison am Bolschoi-Theater und kehrt an die Deutsche Oper Berlin zurück, bevor er in einer Konzertfassung mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks unter der Leitung von Sir John Eliot Gradiner auftritt. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt der Saison ist eine Neuproduktion von Boris Godunov an der Opera de Monte-Carlo, wo der Bass eine seiner Paraderollen spielt. Außerdem ist er als Mephistopheles in der Neuproduktion von Faust an der Opera National de Paris zu sehen. Auf der Konzertbühne ist Ildar Abdrazakov in Verdis Messa da Requiem mit der Staatskapelle Berlin unter der Leitung von Zubin Mehta zu hören. Er ist auch in einem Solo-Recital mit Mzia Bakhtouridze im Berliner Pierre-Boulez-Saal zu hören.

Ildar Abdrazakov hat bereits in fast allen großen Opernhäusern der Vereinigten Staaten und Europas gesungen. Zusätzlich zu den bereits Erwähnten war er u.a. am Gran Teatre del Liceu Barcelona, dem Teatro Real Madrid, der San Francisco Opera, der Washington National Opera und der Los Angeles Opera zu Gast.

Seit seinem Metropolitan Opera-Debüt in Don Giovanni im Jahr 2004 ist Ildar Abdrazakov ein Fixstern an dem renommierten Haus: hier war er u.a. in den Titelpartien von Mozarts Le Nozze di Figaro, als Verdis Attila unter der Leitung von Riccardo Muti und Borodins Fürst Igor, der von Deutsche Grammophon auf DVD und Blu-ray veröffentlicht wurde, zu erleben. Weitere erwähnenswerte Produktionen an der Met waren sein Rollendebüt als Henry VIII in Donizettis Anna Bolena an der Seite von Anna Netrebko in der Titelpartie, Dosifei in Mussorgskys Khovanshchina, Escamillo (Carmen), Assur in Rossinis Semiramide, Leporello (Don Giovanni), sowie Banquo in Verdis Macbeth und Mephistopheles in Berliozs La Damnation de Faust.

An der Mailänder Scala sang Ildar Abdrazakov 2004-05 in einem Konzert zur Wiedereröffnung des Hauses dirigiert von Riccardo Muti und gab 2016 dort seinen ersten Solo-Liederabend. Des Weiteren war er als Moses in einer Produktion von Rossinis Moïse et Pharaon zu hören, die auf CD und DVD erschienen ist. Höhepunkt der Saison 18-19 war die prestigeträchtige Saisoneröffnung des Teatro alla Scala in Mailand, wo der Bass die Titelrolle von Verdis Attila sang. Die Produktion umfasste eine weltweite TV-Übertragung. Darüber hinaus sang er sein drittes Solorezital und spielte als Don Ruy da Silva in Verdis Ernani in diesem berühmten Haus. Die triumphale Eroberung einer der anspruchsvollsten Opernbühnen hat dazu geführt, dass ihm der Franco Abbiati Award in der Kategorie „Der beste Sänger“ verliehen wurde.

Sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen gab der Bass im Jahr 2009 in einer Neuproduktion von Rossinis Moïse et Pharaon. Seitdem ist er regelmäßig zurückgekehrt, u.a. sang er Méphistophélès in einer Neuproduktion von Faust, Mustafà an der Seite von Cecilia Bartoli in der Neuproduktion von Rossinis L‘Italiana in Algeri und Aufführungen von Verdis Messa da Requiem unter der Leitung von Riccardo Muti.

Ildar Abdrazakov gab sein Debüt am Royal Opera House Covent Garden in 2009 mit Konzerten als Bass-Solist in Verdis Messa da Requiem unter der Leitung von Sir Antonio Pappano und kehrte als Don Basilio in Rossinis Il Barbiere di Siviglia und als Filippo II in Verdis Don Carlo zurück. Sein Debüt im Jahr 1998 gab der junge Bass in der Titelpartie von Le Nozze di Figaro am Mariinsky Theater in St. Petersburg. Zu seinen Paraderollen gehören sowohl Leporello als auch die Titelpartie von Mozarts Don Giovanni, Méphistophélès in Gounods Faust und Berlioz’ La damnation de Faust, Mustafá in L’Italiana in Algeri, Selim in Rossinis Il Turco in Italia und Assur in dessen Semiramide. Außerdem ist der russische Bass für Verdi-Partien wie Walter in Luisa Miller und die Titelpartien von Oberto und Attila sowie Banquo in Macbeth und Filippo II in Don Carlo hochgeschätzt. Die französische Fassung von Don Carlos führte Ildar Abdrazakov in 17-18 an der Opéra National de Paris auf, wo er auch sein triumphales Debüt in der Titeltolle von Mussorgskys Boris Godunov gab. Die Premiere wurde live in Kinos in der ganzen Welt ausgestrahlt. In 2019 sang er dort Fürst Igor in Neuproduktion von Barrie Kosky.

In der Saison 18-19 gab Ildar Abdrazakov sein Debüt als Regisseur in einer Produktion von Attila für die Baschkirische Staatsoper, in der er auch die Titelrolle spielte.

Ildar Abdrazakov gibt Konzerte und Liederabende in Russland, Italien, Japan und den USA und hat mit renommierten Orchestern wie dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Gewandhaus Orchester Leipzig, dem Bayerischen Rundfunkorchester, der Rotterdam Philharmonic, dem Orchestre National de France, dem Orchestra Filarmonica della Scala und dem Orchestra dell‘Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia Rom gearbeitet. Zu den wichtigsten Dirigenten, mit denen Ildar Abdrazakov regelmäßig musiziert, zählen u.a. Riccardo Muti, Valery Gergiev, James Levine, Gianandrea Noseda, Bernard de Billy, Riccardo Frizza, Riccardo Chailly und Antonio Pappano. Im November und Dezember 2017 war Ildar Abdrazakov mit Rolando Villazón auf Tour durch Europa. Bei den Konzerten in Prag, Berlin, Baden-Baden, Stuttgart, München, Paris und Wien präsentierten die beiden Stars ihr erstes gemeinsames Album „Duets“ mit Duetten italienischer und französischer Opern, das im September 2017 bei der Deutschen Grammophon veröffentlicht wurde.

Abdrazakovs hochgelobtes erstes Solo-Album „Power Players – Russian Arias for Bass“ wurde Anfang 2014 bei Delos veröffentlicht. Zusätzlich zu seiner mit dem Grammy Award-ausgezeichneten Aufnahme von Verdis Messa da Requiem mit Riccardo Muti und dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, hat Ildar Abdrazakov u.a. bisher unveröffentlichte Arien von Rossini mit Riccardo Chailly und dem Symphonieorchester Mailand sowie Cherubinis Missa Solemnis mit Riccardo Muti und dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks für EMI Classics aufgenommen. Außerdem ist ein weiteres Verdi Messa da Requiem unter der Leitung von Philippe Jordan bei Erato erschienen. Chandos hat Sechs Romanzen und die Suite on Words by Michaelangelo von Schostakowitsch sowie Rachmaninoffs The Miserly Knight mit den BBC Philharmonic und Gianandrea Noseda veröffentlicht. Seit Frühjahr 2017 ist Ildar Abdrazakov Exklusivkünstler der Deutschen Grammophon. Sein erstes Soloalbum Verdi wurde im Sommer 2019 veröffentlicht. Die Videographie von Ildar Abdrazakov umfasst u.a. Moïse et Pharaon aus dem Teatro alla Scala, Oberto aus Bilbao, Norma aus Parma und Lucia di Lammermoor aus der Metropolitan Opera. Im Rahmen des Verdi-Jahres 2013 veröffentlichte das Mariinsky Theater seine Neuproduktion von Attila mit Ildar Abdrazakov in der Titelpartie auf DVD und Blu-ray. Die New York Times schrieb „es waren die Feinheit und Klarheit seines Gesangs, die Verdi-Akzente, die ihn so berührend machten … Abdrazakovs Attila übermittelte beides: die Grausamkeit des Charakters und seinen inneren Aufruhr.”

Abdrazakov wurde 1976 in Ufa, der heutigen Hauptstadt der Republik Baschkirien in Russland, geboren. Seine Eltern waren beide Künstler: seine Mutter ist Malerin und sein verstorbener Vater war Regisseur. Ildar Abdrazakov begann seine Schauspielkarriere im Alter von vier Jahren in den Bühnen- und Filmproduktionen seines Vaters, und es waren eben diese frühen Erfahrungen, die in zu einer Künstlerkarriere inspirierten. Nach seinem Abschluss an der Staatlichen Kunsthochschule in Ufa wurde er Mitglied an der Baschkirischen Oper. In den späten 1990ern gewann er eine Reihe namhafter Gesangswettbewerbe: den Moskauer Grand Prix benannt nach Irina Arkhipova, den Internationalen Glinka Gesangwettbewerb, den Internationalen Rimsky-Korsakov Wettbewerb und den Internationalen Elena Obraszova Wettbewerb. Im Jahr 2000 lenkte sein Sieg beim Maria Callas International Television Competition in Parma international Aufmerksamkeit auf ihn und führte zu seinem Debüt an der Scala im darauffolgenden Jahr.

Ildar Abdrazakov hat seine eigene Stiftung, die gegründet wurde, um junge talentierte Musiker zu unterstützen und zu fördern. Seit 2018 organisiert er jährlich Festivals in Russland und lädt renommierte Sänger zu Konzerten und Meisterkursen ein. Seit 2014 Ildar Abdrazakov der Künstlerische Leiter der Elena Obraszova International Academy of Music in St. Petersburg.

Aktuelles

Ildar Abdrazakov: „Boris Godunow“ an der Opera Monte-Carlo

Bass Ildar Abdrazakov singt in der Oper "Boris Godunow" von Modest Mussorgski die Hauptrolle an der Opera Monte-Carlo.
Mehr

Bleiben Sie gesund und starten Sie gut in das neue Jahr 2021

Season's Greetings!
Mehr

Gala am 24. Oktober 2020: „Bolshoi and Plácido Domingo: Life in Opera“

Plácido Domingo präsentiert am 24. Oktober 2020 das Galakonzert "Bolschoi und Plácido Domingo: Leben in der Oper".
Mehr

Bilder