Gaëlle Arquez

Mezzo-Soprano

Biography

French mezzo-soprano Gaëlle Arquez is one of the most prominent rising stars of the opera world. After graduating from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, the young mezzo-soprano made her debut at the Opéra Bastille in Michael Haneke’s 2013 version of Don Giovanni (Zerlina) under the direction of Philippe Jordan. Ever since, she has been frequently invited to sing in many of the most renowned opera houses in the world. Nominated “Révélation Lyrique” at the “Victoires de la Musique 2011”, Gaëlle Arquez released her highly anticipated debut recording “Ardente Flamme” for Deutsche Grammophon in 2017.

Contact

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 166359854
Liliia Salpeter
Artist Manager

+49 171 9150 336
Simone Samuel
Managerial Assistant

+49 30 166359858

Full Biography

French mezzo-soprano Gaëlle Arquez is one of the most prominent rising stars of the opera world. After graduating from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, the young mezzo-soprano made her debut at the Opéra Bastille in Michael Haneke’s 2013 version of Don Giovanni (Zerlina) under the direction of Philippe Jordan. Ever since, she has been frequently invited to sing in many of the most renowned opera houses in the world. Nominated “Révélation Lyrique” at the “Victoires de la Musique 2011”, Gaëlle Arquez released her highly anticipated debut recording “Ardente Flamme” for Deutsche Grammophon in 2017.

Gaëlle Arquez is set to embark on a diverse and exciting 2023/24 season. She returns to the Paris Opera making role debuts as Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni and La belle Dulcinée in Don Quichotte as well as reprising the title role in Giulio Cesare. The title role in Offenbach’s Fantasio is her vehicle to return to the Opéra Comique. With Opera Comique she also goes on tour to the Edinburgh Festival to present the production of Carmen in the titular role. She also sees six performances of Carmen on a European tour led by Maestro Rene Jacobs, with the performances being recorded for wider audiences. In concert, she sings the mezzo soprano solo in Rossini’s Stabat Mater twice: at Ljubljana’s Cankarjev Dom and with Orchestre National de Montpellier.

In the previous season, Arquez thrice appeared in her signature role of Carmen: in a revival of Calixto Bieito’s production for the Opera Bastille, in Martin Kušej’s production at Staatsoper Berlin, and in Andreas Homoki’s new production at the Opéra Comique. She was also heard in the title role of La cenerentola at the Palais Garnier. On the concert stage, the mezzo-soprano performed Chausson’s Poème de l’amour et de la mer with Wiener Symphoniker, conducted by Mark Minkowski.

Recent highlights include her house and role debut as Isabella in Rossini’s L’italiana in Algeri at the Teatro alla Scala, her Metropolitan Opera debut as Cherubino in Le nozze di Figaro, her role debut as Ruggiero in Handel’s Alcina at Opéra National de Paris, and her role debut as Charlotte in Werther, both at Oper Frankfurt and the Vienna State Opera. Gaëlle Arquez is a regular guest at the Théatre des Champs-Elysées: she appeared there in Così fan tutte and Giulio Cesare, as well as Robert Carsen’s production of Gluck’s Iphigénie en Tauride. In addition, Arquez participated in the Bastille Day concert in Paris – one of the most important French celebrations, broadcasted live on Radio and TV.

Arquez made her role debut as Carmen in Barrie Kosky’s critically acclaimed production for Oper Frankfurt, in which she also made her Royal Opera House debut. The role led her also to the Bregenzer Festspiele in Kasper Holten’s production, which was so successful that Arquez was invited to return the following year for a televised broadcast of the performance, viewed by over 1.5 million people. As Carmen she has also made a house debut in Teatro Real in 2017.

Arquez’s repertoire is quite broad: In 2017/18 she made her first appearance as Isolier in Le comte Ory at Opéra Comique and as Adalgisa in Norma at the Frankfurt Opera. The 2016/17 season saw her debut at the Vienna State Opera under the direction of Marc Minkowski singing the title role in a new production of Gluck’s Armide. She also made role debuts in Pelléas et Mélisande and Serse for the Frankfurt Opera.

Additional career highlights include Idamante in Idomeneo under the direction of René Jacobs at the Theater an der Wien, a production which was also taken to the Mostly Mozart Festival in New York in 2016; Falstaff and L’incoronazione di Poppea at the Opéra de Paris; Teseo at the Frankfurt Opera; Così fan tutte at the Bayerische Staatsoper; Castor et Pollux at Komische Opera Berlin; and Cendrillon at Opéra de Lille.

 

 

© CSAM, March 2024

 

 

 

News

Gaëlle Arquez: New production of Don Quichotte at the Paris Opera

Mezzo Soprano Gaëlle Arquez takes the role of La Belle Dulcinée in Massenet’s opera Don Quichotte at the Paris Opera. The new production by Damiano Michieletto is performed under the baton of Patrick Fournillier. Arquez is joined on stage by bass baritone Christian Van Horn as Don Quichotte. The Premiere takes place on May 10 and further performances can be experienced on May 14, 17, 21, 23, 26, 29 and June 1, 5, 8, 11.
More

Olga Kulchynska and Gaëlle Arquez: Stabat Mater in Ljubljana

Soprano Olga Kulchynska and Mezzo-soprano Gaëlle Arquez sing Gioachino Rossini’s cantata Stabat Mater on February 19, 2024 as a part of Ljubljana Winter Festival. The ensemble also including the tenor Francesco Demuro and the bass Riccardo Zanellato is accompanied by the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra and the Megaron Chamber Choir and by the Italian conductor Roberto Abbado.
More

Emily D’Angelo and Gaëlle Arquez: Cesare at Paris Opera

Mezzo sopranos Gaëlle Arquez and Emily D’Angelo return to Paris Opera in a new production of Georg Friedrich Händels’ Cesare. Arquez sings the title role of Cesare and D’Angelo takes on the role of Sesto. Harry Bicket conducts the Paris Opera Orchestra. Lisette Oropresa takes on the role of Cleopatra. Performances take place on 20., 23., 25., 27., 30. January and 2., 4., 8., 10., 12., 14., 16. February 2024
More

Pictures




Videos

Gaëlle Arquez interprète Carmen sous la Tour Eiffel

Gaëlle Arquez

Mezzo-Sopran

Biographie

Die französische Mezzosopranistin Gaëlle Arquez gehört zu den aufstrebenden Stars der Opernwelt. Nach ihrem Abschluss am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris debütierte die junge Mezzosopranistin an der Opéra Bastille in Michael Hanekes Version von Don Giovanni (Zerlina) aus dem Jahr 2013 und unter der Leitung von Philippe Jordan. Seitdem ist sie an vielen der renommiertesten Opernhäuser der Welt zu Gast. Gaëlle Arquez, die auch beim „Victoires de la Musique 2011“ als „Révélation Lyrique“ nominiert wurde, veröffentlichte 2017 ihre mit Spannung erwartete Debütaufnahme „Ardente Flamme“ bei der Deutschen Grammophon.

Kontakt

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 166359854
Liliia Salpeter
Artist Manager

+49 171 9150 336
Simone Samuel
Managerial Assistant

+49 30 166359858

Biographie

Die französische Mezzosopranistin Gaëlle Arquez gehört zu den aufstrebenden Stars der Opernwelt. Nach ihrem Abschluss am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris debütierte die junge Mezzosopranistin an der Opéra Bastille in Michael Hanekes Version von Don Giovanni (Zerlina) aus dem Jahr 2013 und unter der Leitung von Philippe Jordan. Seitdem ist sie an vielen der renommiertesten Opernhäuser der Welt zu Gast. Gaëlle Arquez, die auch beim „Victoires de la Musique 2011“ als „Révélation Lyrique“ nominiert wurde, veröffentlichte 2017 ihre mit Spannung erwartete Debütaufnahme „Ardente Flamme“ bei der Deutschen Grammophon.

Gaëlle Arquez steht vor einer abwechslungsreichen und spannenden Spielzeit 2023/24. Sie gibt ihr mit Spannung erwartetes Hausdebüt am Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona als Angelina in Rossinis La Cenerentola. Bei ihrer Rückkehr an die Pariser Opéra ist sie als Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni zu hören, gefolgt von Auftritten in der Titelrolle von Offenbachs Fantasio an der Opéra Comique. Am Opernhaus Zürich ist Gaëlle Arquez als Charlotte in Massenets Werther zu sehen. Auf einer Europatournee unter der Leitung von Maestro Rene Jacobs ist sie in der Titelrolle von Carmen zu erleben, wobei die Aufführungen für ein breiteres Publikum aufgezeichnet werden. Im Konzert singt sie das Sopransolo in Rossinis Stabat Mater im Cankarjev Dom in Ljubljana.

In der vergangenen Spielzeit war Arquez dreimal in ihrer Paraderolle der Carmen zu erleben: in einer Wiederaufnahme von Calixto Bieitos Inszenierung an der Opera Bastille, in Martin Kušejs Inszenierung an der Staatsoper Berlin und in Andreas Homokis Neuinszenierung an der Opéra Comique. Außerdem war sie in der Titelrolle von La cenerentola am Palais Garnier zu hören. Auf der Konzertbühne sang die Mezzosopranistin Chaussons Poème de l’amour et de la mer mit den Wiener Symphonikern unter der Leitung von Mark Minkowski.

Zu ihren jüngsten Engagements gehören das Haus- und Rollendebüt als Isabella in Rossinis L’italiana in Algeri am Teatro alla Scala, das bemerkenswerte Rollendebüt als Ruggiero in Händels Alcina an der Opera National de Paris, das Rollendebüt als Charlotte in Werther an der Oper Frankfurt und der Wiener Staatsoper. Gaëlle Arquez ist regelmäßiger Gast am Théatre des Champs- Elysées: sie war dort in Cosi fan Tutte und Giulio Cesare sowie in Robert Carsens Inszenierung von Glucks Iphigénie en Tauride zu erleben.

In der Saison 2019/2020 gab Gaëlle Arquez ihr erfolgreiches Hausdebüt an der Metropolitan Opera als Cherubino in Le nozze di Figaro. 2019 sang Gaëlle Arquez beim Konzert zum Tag der Bastille in Paris – einer der wichtigsten französischen Feierlichkeiten, die live im Radio und Fernsehen übertragen wurde.

Ihr Rollendebüt als Carmen gab sie 2016 in Barrie Koskys hochgelobter Produktion in Frankfurt. Mit dieser Produktion gab Arquez ihr Hausdebüt am Royal Opera House, an welches sie bereits zweimal zurückkehrte. Diese Rolle führte sie auch zu den Bregenzer Festspielen im Jahr 2017. Die Produktion von Kasper Holten war so erfolgreich, dass Arquez auch im darauffolgenden Jahr nach Bregenz eingeladen wurde und die Fernsehübertragung der Aufführung von über 1,5 Millionen Menschen gesehen wurde. Als Carmen hat sie 2017 ebenso ein Hausdebüt im Teatro Real gegeben.

Das Repertoire von Arquez ist breit gefächert. 2017/18 trat sie erstmals als Isolier in Le Comte Ory an der Opéra-Comique in Paris und als Adalgisa in Norma an der Frankfurter Oper auf. In der Saison 2016/17 gab Gaëlle Arquez ihr Debüt an der Wiener Staatsoper unter der Leitung von Marc Minkowski, der die Titelrolle in einer neuen Produktion von Glucks Armide sang. Außerdem gab sie ihr Rollendebüt in Pelléas et Mélisande und Serse an der Frankfurter Oper.

Zu den weiteren jüngsten Auftritten von Gaëlle Arquez zählen Idomeneo unter der Leitung von René Jacobs am Theater an der Wien – eine Produktion, die 2016 auch beim Mostly Mozart Festival in New York aufgeführt wurde, als auch Falstaff und L’incoronazione di Poppea an der Opéra de Paris, Teseo an der Frankfurter Oper, Così fan tutte an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Castor et Pollux an der Komischen Oper Berlin und Cendrillon an der Opera de Lille.

 

© CSAM, August 2023

 

 

 

 

Aktuelles

Olga Kulchynska und Gaëlle Arquez: Stabat Mater in Ljubljana

Die Sopranistin Olga Kulchynska und die Mezzosopranistin Gaëlle Arquez singen am 19. Februar 2024 im Rahmen des Ljubljana Winter Festivals Gioachino Rossinis Kantate Stabat Mater. Das Ensemble, zu dem auch der Tenor Francesco Demuro und der Bass Riccardo Zanellato gehören, wird vom Slowenischen Philharmonischen Orchester und dem Megaron-Kammerchor sowie vom italienischen Dirigenten Roberto Abbado begleitet.
Mehr

Emily D’Angelo und Gaëlle Arquez: Cesare an der Opera Paris

Die Mezzosopranistinnen Gaëlle Arquez und Emily D’Angelo kehren in einer Neuproduktion von Georg Friedrich Händels‘ Cesare an die Pariser Oper zurück. Arquez singt die Titelrolle des Cesare und D'Angelo übernimmt die Rolle des Sesto. Harry Bicket dirigiert das Orchester der Pariser Oper. Lisette Oropresa übernimmt die Rolle der Kleopatra. Die Vorstellungen finden am 20., 23., 25., 27., 30. Januar und am 2., 4., 8., 10., 12., 14. und 16. Februar 2024 statt.
Mehr

Gaëlle Arquez: Fantasio an der Opéra Comique in Paris

Gaëlle Arquez übernimmt die Titelrolle in der Neuproduktion von Offenbachs Fantasio an der Opéra Comique in Paris, inszeniert von Thomas Jolly und dirigiert von Laurent Campellone.  Auf der Bühne sind unter anderem auch Jodie Devos, Franck Leguérine und Jean-Sébastien Bou zu sehen. Die Vorstellungen finden am 13., 15., 17., 19., 21. und 23. Dezember statt.
Mehr

Bilder




Videos

Gaëlle Arquez interprète Carmen sous la Tour Eiffel