Judit Kutasi

Mezzo-Soprano

Biography

The Romanian-Hungarian mezzo-soprano Judit Kutasi with her “deeper, dark” (Jenny Camilleri/ Bachtrack) voice is one of the most up-and-coming singers in her repertoire and leads critics to predict that she “will be the Verdi mezzo of the next years” (Maximilian Maier / BR Klassik).

Contact

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 166359854
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Dyakonova
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 166359853

Full Biography

The Romanian-Hungarian mezzo-soprano Judit Kutasi with her “deeper, dark” (Jenny Camilleri/ Bachtrack) voice is one of the most up-and-coming singers in her repertoire and leads critics to predict that she “will be the Verdi mezzo of the next years” (Maximilian Maier / BR Klassik).

In the 2023/24 season, Kutasi is poised to make several major debuts: she sees her first performances in the United States as Ortrud in Wagner’s Lohengrin with at the San Francisco Opera, and celebrates her Metropolitan Opera debut as Preziosilla in the new production of La forza del destino under Met Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin. She makes her house debut at the Royal Danish Opera in Copenhagen with Verdi’s Requiem led by Bertrand de Billy, and appears for the first time with the Salzburg Easter Festival performing the same masterpiece under the baton of Maestro Antonio Pappano. Verdi’s Requiem also brings her to St. Louis, where she sings it with the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra under Stéphane Denève. Additionally, she returns to the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where she reprises the role of Laura in La Gioconda; performs Amneris in Aïda, one of her signature roles, at the Hungarian State Opera; and sings the role of Erda in a concert performance of Wagner’s Siegfried at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

Last season, Kutasi sang Azucena in Il trovatore at the Gran Teatre del Liceu and at the Opéra National de Paris. She made a last-minute jump-in as Amneris in a new production of Aïda at the Bayerische Staatsoper, and reprised the role for Opera de Las Palmas. She was also heard as Quickly in Falstaff at the Staatsoper Hamburg. On the concert stage, Judit Kutasi performed Stravinsky’s Les noces conducted by Kent Nagano at the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, and appeared in concerts at the Staatstheater Hannover, performing Leonard Bernstein’s Symphony No. 1 “Jeremiah”.

Highlights of recent seasons include the role of Erda in the Deutsche Oper Berlin’s new production of Das Rheingold under the musical direction of Sir Donald Runnicles, as well as the role of Amneris in Aïda, both at the Arena di Verona and the Bayerische Staatsoper under Maestro Zubin Mehta. Kutasi jumped in at the last minute at Teatro alla Scala as La principessa di Bouillon in Cilea’s Adriana Lecouvreur, and performed as Princess Eboli in a semi-staged version of Verdi’s Don Carlo at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. As Princess Eboli, the mezzo-soprano was also part of an online streamed concert – a co-production of the Teatro Comunale Luciano Pavarotti and the Teatro Municipale. With great success, Judit Kutasi took on the role of Maddalena alongside Anna Netrebko and Yusif Eyvazov in Umberto Giordano’s Andrea Chénier at Teatro alla Scala Milano in performances led by Maestro Riccardo Chailly, subsequently released by the theater on DVD in a coproduction with CMajor.

A sought-after artist on the concert stage, she sang Federica in Verdi’s Luisa Miller (CD production of BR Klassik) with the Munich Radio Orchestra under the direction of Ivan Repušic. At the Musikfest Berlin, she sang Waltraute (Die Walküre) and Erda (Siegfried) under the baton of Donald Runnicles. With Maestro Runnicles she also performed Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 at the BBC Proms together with the World Orchestra for Peace. She sang Grimgerde (Die Walküre) under Sir Andrew Davis at the Edinburgh Festival in Scotland and opened the Budapest Spring Festival at MÜPA as Sophie in Liszt’s The Legend of Saint Elizabeth. Judit Kutasi appeared as Catherine (Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher) with the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam (CD production of RCO Live). At Teatro all Scala in Milan, she sang Bruckner’s Te Deum and performed in the opera house’s new year’s concert in 2019.

Judit Kutasi was a Walter Sandvoss Fellow of Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin in 2016/17 and has been a very popular and celebrated guest artist at the Deutsche Oper ever since. In the 2013/14 season, the mezzo-soprano was part of the International Opera Studio of the Zurich Opera and directly after became a permanent ensemble member of the Opernhaus Zürich until 2016.

The mezzo-soprano has worked with many renowned conductors such as Christoph von Dohnányi, Fabio Luisi, Alain Altinoglu, Stanislav Kochanovsky, Nello Santi, Marco Armiliato, Carrie-Ann Matheson and many others, as well as with distinguished directors such as Barrie Kosky, Andreas Homoki, Tatiana Gürbaca, Frank Castorf, amongst others.

Judit Kutasi was born in Timisoara, Romania. She studied voice, piano and cello at the Colegiul Național de Artă “Ion Vidu” and continued her studies at the University of Oradea and the Music Academy Gheorghe Dima in Cluj-Napoca, Romania, graduating with a master’s degree.

 

News

Judit Kutasi: Met debut in new production of La forza del destino 

Judit Kutasi celebrates her Metropolitan Opera debut as Preziosilla in the new production of La forza del destino under the musical direction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin. The performances take place on February 26 and March 1, 4, 9, 12, 16.
More

Judit Kutasi: As Laura in La Gioconda at the Deutsche Oper Berlin

Judit Kutasi returns to the Deutsche Oper Berlin to reprise the role of Laura in Filippo Sanjust’s production of Ponchielli’s opera La Gioconda, with the decorations dating back to the opera’s composition in the late 19th century. The performances take place on February 3, 9, and 11, 2024.
More

Judit Kutasi: As Erda in Siegfried at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam

On November 25, Judit Kutasi sings the role of Erda in a concert performance of Wagner’s Siegfried with the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra under the musical direction of Karina Canellakis at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.
More

Pictures

Judit Kutasi

Mezzo-Sopran

Biographie

Die rumänisch-ungarische Künstlerin Judit Kutasi ist mit ihrer „vollen dunklen“ (Jenny Camilleri/ Bachtrack) Mezzo-Stimme eine der aufstrebenden Sängerinnen ihres Faches überhaupt und veranlasst Kritiker zu prophezeien, dass sie „der Verdi-Mezzo der nächsten Jahre [sein] wird“ (Maximilian Maier / BR Klassik).

Kontakt

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 166359854
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Dyakonova
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 166359853

Biographie

Die rumänisch-ungarische Künstlerin Judit Kutasi ist mit ihrer „vollen dunklen“ (Jenny Camilleri/ Bachtrack) Mezzo-Stimme eine der aufstrebenden Sängerinnen ihres Faches überhaupt und veranlasst Kritiker zu prophezeien, dass sie „der Verdi-Mezzo der nächsten Jahre [sein] wird“ (Maximilian Maier / BR Klassik).

In der Saison 2023/24 gibt Judit Kutasi mehrere wichtige Debüts: Sie erlebt ihre ersten Auftritte in den USA als Ortrud in Wagners Lohengrin an der San Francisco Opera und feiert ihr Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera als Preziosilla in einer Neuproduktion von La Forza del Destino unter dem Dirigat vom musikalischen Direktor der Met Maestro Nézet-Séguin. An der Königlich Dänischen Oper in Kopenhagen gibt sie ihr Hausdebüt mit Verdis Requiem unter der Leitung von Bertrand de Billy und tritt erstmals bei den Salzburger Osterfestspielen mit demselben Meisterwerk unter der Leitung von Maestro Antonio Pappano auf. Verdis Requiem bringt sie auch nach St. Louis, wo sie es mit dem St. Louis Symphony Orchestra unter Stéphane Denève singt. Darüber hinaus kehrt sie an die Deutsche Oper Berlin zurück, wo sie die Rolle der Laura in La Gioconda wieder aufnimmt. Sie singt die Amneris in Aïda, eine ihrer Paraderollen, an der Ungarischen Staatsoper in Budapest und die Rolle der Erda in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Wagners Siegfried im Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

In der vergangenen Saison sang Judit die Azucena in Verdis Il Trovatore am Gran Teatre del Liceu und an der Opéra National de Paris. Sie sprang in letzter Minute als Amneris in einer Neuproduktion von Aïda an der Bayerischen Staatsoper ein und sang diese Rolle auch an der Opera de Las Palmas. Außerdem war sie als Quickly in Falstaff an der Staatsoper Hamburg zu hören. Auf der Konzertbühne interpretierte Judit Kutasi Igor Strawinskys Les Noces unter der Leitung von Kent Nagano in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg und trat in mehreren Konzerten am Staatstheater Hannover mit Leonard Bernsteins Symphonie Nr. 1 „Jeremiah“ auf.

Zu den weiteren Höhepunkten der Opernkarriere von Judit Kutasi gehört die Rolle der Erda in der Neuproduktion von Wagners Das Rheingold unter der musikalischen Leitung von Sir Donald Runnicles an der Deutschen Oper sowie die Rolle der Amneris in Aïda, sowohl an der Arena di Verona als auch an der Bayerischen Staatsoper unter Maestro Zubin Mehta. Am Teatro alla Scala sprang sie in letzter Minute als La principessa di Bouillon in Francesco Cileas Adriana Lecouvreur ein. Außerdem sang sie die Prinzessin Eboli in einer halbszenischen Version von Verdis Don Carlo an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Als Prinzessin Eboli war die Mezzosopranistin auch Teil eines online gestreamten Konzerts – einer Koproduktion des Teatro Comunale Luciano Pavarotti und des Teatro Municipale. Mit großem Erfolg übernahm Judit Kutasi die Rolle der Maddalena an der Seite von Anna Netrebko und Yusif Eyvazov in Umberto Giordanos Andrea Chénier unter der musikalischen Leitung von Ricardo Chailly am Teatro alla Scala. Diese Produktion wurde von CMajor als DVD veröffentlicht.

Als eine gefragte Künstlerin auf der Konzertbühne sang Judit Kutasi die Federica in Verdis Luisa Miller (CD Produktion von BR Klassik) gemeinsam mit dem Münchener Rundfunkorchester unter der Leitung von Ivan Repušic. Beim Musikfest Berlin sang sie die Rollen der Waltraute (Die Walküre) und Erda (Siegfried) unter der musikalischen Leitung von Donald Runnicles. Ebenfalls mit Maestro Runnicles musizierte sie bei den BBC Proms Beethovens 9. Symphonie zusammen mit dem World Orchestra for Peace. Sie sang die Grimgerde (Die Walküre) unter Sir Andrew Davis im Rahmen des Edinburgh Festivals in Schottland und eröffnete als Sophie in Liszts Die Legende von der Heiligen Elisabeth das Budapest Spring Festival im MÜPA. Judit Kutasi war als Catherine (Jeanne d’Arc au Bucher) mit dem Concertgebouw-Orchester in Amsterdam zu Gast (erschienen auf CD bei RCO Live). Am Teatro alla Scala in Mailand sang sie Bruckners Te Deum und trat im Neujahrskonzert des Opernhauses 2019 auf.

Judit Kutasi war Walter-Sandvoss-Stipendiatin des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin in der Saison 2016/17 und ist seitdem an der Deutschen Oper eine sehr beliebte und gefeierte Gastkünstlerin. In der Saison 2013/14 war die Mezzosopranistin Teil des Internationalen Opernstudios am Opernhaus Zürich und direkt im Anschluss bis 2016 festes Ensemblemitglied des Opernhauses.

Die Mezzosopranistin hat bereits mit vielen namhaften Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten wie Christoph von Dohnányi, Fabio Luisi, Alain Altinoglu, Stanislav Kochanovsky, Nello Santi, Marco Armiliato, Carrie-Ann Matheson sowie mit angesehenen Regisseurinnen und Regisseuren wie Barrie Kosky, Andreas Homoki, Tatiana Gürbaca, Frank Castorf zusammengearbeitet.

Judit Kutasi wurde in Timisoara in Rumänien geboren. Sie studierte an dem dortigen Colegiul Național de Artă „Ion Vidu“ Gesang, Klavier und Cello und führte ihr Studium an der Universität Oradea und der Musikakademie Gheorghe Dima in Cluj-Napoca, Rumänien weiter und schloss dieses mit dem Master ab.

Aktuelles

Judit Kutasi: Met-Debüt in der Neuproduktion von La forza del destino

Judit Kutasi feiert ihr Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera als Preziosilla in der Neuproduktion von La forza del destino unter der musikalischen Leitung von Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Die Vorstellungen finden am 26. Februar und am 1., 4., 9., 12. und 16. März statt.
Mehr

Judit Kutasi: Als Laura in La Gioconda an der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Judit Kutasi kehrt an die Deutsche Oper Berlin zurück, um die Rolle der Laura in Ponchiellis Oper La Gioconda wieder aufzunehmen, in der Inszenierung von Filippo Sanjust mit Originaldekorationen aus der Entstehungszeit des Werkes. Die Vorstellungen finden am 3., 9. und 11. Februar 2024 statt.
Mehr

Judit Kutasi: Als Erda in Siegfried am Concertgebouw in Amsterdam

Am 25. November singt Judit Kutasi die Rolle der Erda in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Wagners Siegfried mit dem Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra unter der musikalischen Leitung von Karina Canellakis im Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.
Mehr

Bilder