Joseph Calleja

Tenor

Biography

Blessed with a golden-age voice that routinely inspires comparisons to “legendary singers from earlier eras: Jussi Björling, Beniamino Gigli, even Enrico Caruso” (Associated Press), Maltese-born Joseph Calleja has quickly become one of the most acclaimed and sought-after tenors today. His expansive discography and frequent appearances on the world’s leading opera and concert stages prompted NPR to hail him as “arguably today’s finest lyric tenor,” and led to his being voted Gramophone magazine’s 2012 Artist of the Year. A Grammy-nominated recording artist for Decca Classics, he has released five solo albums for the label.

Contact

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 52007 1766
Klara Maria Taube
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1759

News

Joseph Calleja: Met Stars Live in Concert on October 24, 2020

Tenor Joseph Calleja will sing a concert on October 24th together with the soprano Diana Damrau as part of the series "Met Stars Live in Concert".
More

Joseph Calleja: “The Magic Of Mantovani” Out Now!

The family of conductor, composer and arranger Mantovani, and his record label Decca, are to release a brand new album "The Magic of Mantovani", in which his original orchestral 1950s and ‘60s recordings are remastered and reimagined with the golden voice of Maltese tenor Joseph Calleja.
More

Joseph Calleja: Best of “La Gioconda” at the Deutsche Oper Berlin

On September 25th and 26th, Joseph Calleja will perform in a concert performance of "La Gioconda". A best of arias and ensembles from Amilcare Ponchielli's opera will be presented under the musical direction of Ivan Repusic.
More

Pictures






Videos

Joseph Calleja - "E lucevan le stelle" from Tosca - Puccini (official video)

Joseph Calleja

Tenor

Biographie

Der gebürtige Malteser Joseph Calleja ist mit einer Stimme aus dem Goldenen Zeitalter gesegnet, die routinemäßig Vergleiche mit „legendären Sängern aus früheren Epochen anregt: Jussi Björling, Beniamino Gigli, sogar Enrico Caruso“ (Associated Press). Er ist schnell zu einem der bekanntesten und gefragtesten geworden heute nach Tenören. Seine expansive Diskographie und seine häufigen Auftritte auf den weltweit führenden Opern- und Konzertbühnen veranlassten NPR, ihn als „wohl besten lyrischen Tenor von heute“ zu bezeichnen, und führten dazu, dass er 2012 zum Künstler des Jahres des Gramophone-Magazins gewählt wurde. Als Grammy-nominierter Aufnahmekünstler für Decca Classics hat er fünf Soloalben für das Label veröffentlicht.

Kontakt

Jonathan Letts
Associate Director

+49 30 52007 1766
Klara Maria Taube
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 52007 1759

Aktuelles

Joseph Calleja: Met Stars Live in Concert am 24. Oktober 2020

Tenor Joseph Calleja singt am 24. Oktober gemeinsam mit der Sopranistin Diana Damrau ein Konzert im Rahmen der Serie "Met Stars Live in Concert".
Mehr

Joseph Calleja: neues Album „The Magic Of Mantovani“ veröffentlicht!

Die Familie des Dirigenten und Komponisten Mantovani und sein Plattenlabel Decca veröffentlichen ein brandneues Album "The Magic of Mantovani", auf dem seine ursprünglichen Orchesteraufnahmen aus den 1950er und 60er Jahren remasterd und von dem Malteser Tenor Joseph Calleja neuinterpretiert werden.
Mehr

Joseph Calleja: Best of „La Gioconda“ an der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Am 25. und 26. September tritt Joseph Calleja in einer konzertanten Aufführung von "La Gioconda" auf. Unter der musikalischen Leitung von Ivan Repusic wird ein Best of der Arien und Ensembles aus Amilcare Ponchiellis Oper präsentiert.
Mehr

Bilder






Videos

Joseph Calleja - "E lucevan le stelle" from Tosca - Puccini (official video)