Theodore Platt

Baritone

Biography

Rising British-Russian baritone Theodore Platt, celebrated for his “warm and powerful English baritone” (Music OMH) is one of opera’s most promising young voices. He was a member of the Bayerische Staatsoper’s Opera Studio for the 2020/21 and 2021/22 seasons. In 2022, he was named recipient of the prestigious Borletti-Buitoni Trust (BBT) fellowship.

Contact

Klara Maria Taube
Artist Manager

+49 30 166359852
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Dyakonova
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 166359853

Full Biography

Rising British-Russian baritone Theodore Platt, celebrated for his “warm and powerful English baritone (Music OMH) is one of opera’s most promising young voices. He was a member of the Bayerische Staatsoper’s Opera Studio for the 2020/21 and 2021/22 seasons. In 2022, he was named recipient of the prestigious Borletti-Buitoni Trust (BBT) fellowship.

The 2023/24 season marks several exciting debuts for Theodore Platt. He sees his first performances of Belcore in L’elisir d’amore in a return to the Glyndebourne Opera Festival, and makes his role and house debut as the titular character in Guillaume Tell at St. Gallen Opera House. On the concert stage, Platt gives recitals with pianist Keval Shah at Wigmore Hall, the Oxford International Song Festival, and the Sibelius Academy Concert Hall in Helsinki. He returns to the Mozart Week in Salzburg with the Vienna Philharmonic and Andrés Orozco-Estrada in works by Mozart, Haydn & Salieri, and will also be heard as soloist in Bent Sørensen’s St Matthew Passion with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra at the DR Concert House in Copenhagen, led by Ludovic Morlot.

Last season, Platt debuted at Glyndebourne in the role of Jailer in Barrie Kosky’s new production of Dialogues des Carmélites, which also traveled to BBC Proms. He also made his Salzburg debut as part of the Mozart Week with the pastiche The Old Tree, or Franzi’s Journey to the End of the World in a production by Paul Schweinester at the Salzburger Marionettentheater. Platt returned to the Bayerische Staatsoper in the role of the Badger in the children’s opera Mondbär, and in Baden-Baden and Berlin he performed as the Night Watchman in Frau ohne Schatten under the musical direction of Kirill Petrenko. Additionally, the baritone sang in a concert in Salzburg (Konzert im Dialog) and gave a piano recital at the Christopheri Salon in Berlin.

In the 2021/22 season, Platt was heard in Munich as Fiorello in Il barbiere di Siviglia, as Lakai in Ariadne auf Naxos and as Count Ceprano in Rigoletto. He received great acclaim jumping in last minute as Wiedehopf (Die Vögel) at the Bayerische Staatsoper Festival in 2021. Platt also created the role of Digital Baritone in the world premiere of Miroslav Srnka’s Singularity alongside Klangforum Wien at the Bayerische Staatsoper, and performed the title role of Johannes Kepler in the world premiere of Kepler’s Trial, a contemporary opera composed by Tim Watts, staged as part of the Victoria and Albert Museum’s groundbreaking exhibition “Opera: Passion, Power and Politics” in 2018.

Additional recent highlights include Figaro (Il barbiere di Siviglia) and Malatesta (Don Pasquale) in concert performances with Bayerische Staatsoper’s Opera studio; Ramiro (L’heure espagnole) for RCM London, and Stravinsky’s Threni with Vladimir Jurowski and the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

A sought-after concert singer, the baritone made his Wigmore Hall debut in 2019 as part of Graham Johnson’s Songmakers’ recital series. In 2021, he performed at the Oxford Lieder Festival and at the Schubertiade Schwarzenberg. In 2018-19, Theodore Platt participated in the inaugural French Song Exchange at Wigmore Hall, working closely with Felicity Lott and François Le Rouxand culminating in recitals in London and Paris. In 2022, he returned to Wigmore for a recital alongside Malcolm Martineau.

Theodore Platt is an alumnus of the Verbier Festival Academy and the Royal College of Music Opera Studio. He attended the Internationale Meistersinger Akademie (IMA), which was followed by engagements with the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra and a Schubert recital including a broadcast on BR-Klassik.

He has won numerous prizes in competitions including the 64th Kathleen Ferrier Awards, the Veronica Dunne International Singing Competition, Copenhagen Lied Duo Competition, Lies Askonas Competition, Joan Chissell Schumann Competition. Further, he was awarded the Prix Thierry Mermod at Verbier Festival. In 2022, Theodore Platt and pianist Keval Shah won the first prize at the 13th International Art Song Competition Stuttgart. The duo performed works by Franz Schubert, Vivian Fung, Hugo Wolf, Frank Bridge, and Benjamin Britten.

London-born, Theodore Platt studied Music at St John’s College, Cambridge.

News

Serena Sáenz and Theodore Platt: Debut with Vienna Philharmonic at the Mozart Week Salzburg

Soprano Serena Sáenz and baritone Theodore Platt make their debut with the Vienna Philharmonic at the Mozart Week Salzburg on February 3, 2024. The program includes the Works by W. A. Mozart, Joseph Haydn & Antonio Salieri. Andrés Orozco-Estrada conducts.
More

Theodore Platt: Role debut as Belcore in L’elisisr d’amore at Glyndebourne Opera Festival

Theodore Platt makes his role debut as Belcore in L’elisir d’amore at Glyndebourne Opera Festival. He can be seen on stage together with Mariam Battistelli as Adina and Filipe Manu as Nemorino on November 11, 14, 17, 22, and 25 as well as December 1, 2023.
More

Theodore Platt: Recital at Oxford International Song Festival

On October 15, baritone Theodore Platt and pianist Keval Shah perform at the Oxford International Song Festival. The recital, titled "Poet of Freedom" features compositions by Poulenc, Turina, Bonds, among others.
More

Pictures

Videos

Theodore Platt – Mörike-Lieder, Hugo Wolf - “Gebet”
Theodore Platt – Die tote Stadt “Mein Sehnen, mein Wähen”
Theodore Platt – Le Nozze di Figaro “Hai gia vinta la causa”
Theodore Platt – Il barbiere di Siviglia “Largo al factotum”

Theodore Platt

Bariton

Biographie

Der aufstrebende britisch-russische Bariton Theodore Platt, der für seine „warme und kraftvolle englische Baritonstimme“ (Music OMH) gefeiert wird, ist eine der vielversprechendsten jungen Stimmen der Oper. Er war Mitglied des Opernstudios der Bayerischen Staatsoper in den Spielzeiten 2020/21 und 2021/22. Im Jahr 2022 wurde er zum Empfänger des renommierten Borletti-Buitoni Trust (BBT) Stipendiums ernannt.

Kontakt

Klara Maria Taube
Artist Manager

+49 30 166359852
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Dyakonova
Associate Artist Manager

+49 30 166359853

Biographie

Der aufstrebende britisch-russische Bariton Theodore Platt, der für seine „warme und kraftvolle englische Baritonstimme“ (Music OMH) gefeiert wird, ist eine der vielversprechendsten jungen Stimmen der Oper. Er war Mitglied des Opernstudios der Bayerischen Staatsoper in den Spielzeiten 2020/21 und 2021/22. Im Jahr 2022 wurde er zum Empfänger des renommierten Borletti-Buitoni Trust (BBT) Stipendiums ernannt.

In der Spielzeit 2023/24 gibt Theodore Platt mehrere spannende Debüts. Bei seiner Rückkehr zum Glyndebourne Opera Festival ist er zum ersten Mal als Belcore in L’elisir d’amore zu sehen, und am Theater St. Gallen gibt er sein Rollen- und Hausdebüt als Titelheld in Guillaume Tell. Auf der Konzertbühne gibt Platt Liederabende mit dem Pianisten Keval Shah in der Wigmore Hall, beim Oxford International Song Festival und in der Sibelius Academy Concert Hall in Helsinki. Zur Mozartwoche in Salzburg kehrt er mit den Wiener Philharmonikern und Andrés Orozco-Estrada mit Werken von Mozart, Haydn und Salieri zurück. Außerdem ist er als Solist in Bent Sørensens St Matthew Passion mit dem Danish National Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Ludovic Morlot im DR Concert House in Kopenhagen zu hören.

In der vergangenen Saison debütierte Platt in Glyndebourne in der Rolle des Gefängniswärters in Barrie Koskys neuer Produktion von Dialogues des Carmélites, die auch bei den BBC Proms aufgeführt wurde. Sein Debüt in Salzburg gab er im Rahmen der Mozartwoche mit der Pastiche The Old Tree, or Franzi’s Journey to the End of the World in einer Inszenierung von Paul Schweinester am Salzburger Marionettentheater. An die Bayerische Staatsoper kehrte Platt in der Rolle des Dachses in der Kinderoper Mondbär zurück, und in Baden-Baden und Berlin trat er als Nachtwächter in Frau ohne Schatten unter der musikalischen Leitung von Kirill Petrenko auf. Außerdem sang der Bariton in einem Konzert in Salzburg (Konzert im Dialog) und gab einen Klavierabend im Christopheri-Salon in Berlin.

In der Saison 2021/22 war Platt in München als Fiorello in Il barbiere di Siviglia, als Lakai in Ariadne auf Naxos und als Graf Ceprano in Rigoletto zu hören. Bei den Münchner Opernfestspielen 2021 sprang er in letzter Minute als Wiedehopf (Die Vögel) ein und erhielt großen Beifall. Platt kreierte auch die Rolle des Digitalen Baritons in der Weltpremiere von Miroslav Srnkas Singularity zusammen mit dem Klangforum Wien an der Bayerischen Staatsoper und spielte die Titelrolle des Johannes Kepler in der Weltpremiere von Kepler’s Trial, einer zeitgenössischen Oper, die von Tim Watts komponiert wurde und im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Opera: Passion, Power and Politics“ im Jahr 2018 aufgeführt wurde.

Weitere Höhepunkte der letzten Zeit waren Figaro (Il barbiere di Siviglia) und Malatesta (Don Pasquale) in konzertanten Aufführungen mit dem Opernstudio der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Ramiro (L’heure espagnole) für das RCM London und Strawinskys Threni mit Vladimir Jurowski und dem London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Als gefragter Konzertsänger gab der Bariton 2019 sein Debüt in der Wigmore Hall im Rahmen der Songmakers‘ Recital Series von Graham Johnson. Im Jahr 2021 trat er beim Oxford Lieder Festival und bei der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg auf. 2018/19 nahm Theodore Platt am ersten French Song Exchange in der Wigmore Hall teil, wo er eng mit Felicity Lott und François Le Roux zusammenarbeitete und in Konzerten in London und Paris auftrat. Im Jahr 2022 kehrte er für einen Liederabend an der Seite von Malcolm Martineau nach Wigmore zurück.

Theodore Platt ist ein Absolvent der Verbier Festival Academy und des Royal College of Music Opera Studio. Er besuchte die Internationale Meistersinger Akademie (IMA), es folgten Engagements bei den Nürnberger Symphonikern und ein Schubert-Rezital, das von BR-Klassik übertragen wurde.

Er ist Preisträger zahlreicher Wettbewerbe, darunter die 64. Kathleen Ferrier Awards, der Veronica Dunne International Singing Competition, der Copenhagen Lied Duo Competition, der Lies Askonas Competition und der Joan Chissell Schumann Competition. Außerdem wurde er beim Verbier Festival mit dem Prix Thierry Mermod ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2022 gewannen Theodore Platt und der Pianist Keval Shah den ersten Preis beim 13. Internationalen Kunstliedwettbewerb Stuttgart. Das Duo führte Werke von Franz Schubert, Vivian Fung, Hugo Wolf, Frank Bridge und Benjamin Britten auf.

Der in London geborene Theodore Platt studierte Musik am St John’s College in Cambridge.

Aktuelles

Serena Sáenz und Theodore Platt: Debüt mit den Wiener Philharmonikern bei der Mozartwoche Salzburg

Die Sopranistin Serena Sáenz und der Bariton Theodore Platt treten zum ersten Mal mit den Wiener Philharmonikern bei der Mozartwoche in Salzburg auf. Das Konzert findet am 3. Februar statt. Auf dem Programm stehen die Werke von W. A. Mozart, Joseph Haydn und Antonio Salieri. Andrés Orozco-Estrada dirigiert.
Mehr

Theodore Platt: Rollendebüt in L’elisisr d’amore beim Glyndebourne Opera Festival

Theodore Platt ist bei seiner Rückkehr zum Glyndebourne Opera Festival erstmals als Belcore in L'elisir d'amore zu erleben. Zusammen mit Mariam Battistelli als Adina und Filipe Manu als Nemorino ist er am 11., 14., 17., 22. und 25. November sowie am 1. Dezember 2023 auf der Bühne zu sehen.
Mehr

Theodore Platt: Solokonzert beim Oxford International Song Festival

Am 15. Oktober 2023 treten der Bariton Theodore Platt und der Pianist Keval Shah beim Oxford International Song Festival auf. In einem Konzert mit dem Titel "Poet of Freedom" präsentieren sie Werke von Poulenc, Turina, Bonds und anderen.
Mehr

Bilder

Videos

Theodore Platt – Mörike-Lieder, Hugo Wolf - “Gebet”
Theodore Platt – Die tote Stadt “Mein Sehnen, mein Wähen”
Theodore Platt – Le Nozze di Figaro “Hai gia vinta la causa”
Theodore Platt – Il barbiere di Siviglia “Largo al factotum”