Eliška Weissová

Soprano

Biography

Czech dramatic soprano Eliška Weissová has been a regular guest on international stages since 2006, performing with the National Theatre Prague, Welsh National Opera, Opéra de Rennes, Theatre Ústí nad Labem, and Slovak National Theatre. She made her auspicious house debut in 2022 at the Vienna State Opera as Kostelnička in Jenůfa under the baton of Tomáš Hanus. Her performance received critical acclaim, with many praising her powerful voice and dramatic depth.

Contact

Liliia Salpeter
Artist Manager

+49 171 9150 336
Judith Neuhoff
Managing Director

+49 30 166359850
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Meshcherinova
Managerial Assistant

+49 30 166359857

Full Biography

Czech dramatic soprano Eliška Weissová has been a regular guest on international stages since 2006, performing with the National Theatre Prague, Welsh National Opera, Opéra de Rennes, Theatre Ústí nad Labem, and Slovak National Theatre. She made her auspicious house debut in 2022 at the Vienna State Opera as Kostelnička in Jenůfa under the baton of Tomáš Hanus. Her performance received critical acclaim, with many praising her powerful voice and dramatic depth.

Weissová’s 23/24 season begins at the Latvian National Opera in performances of Kostelnička (Jenůfa) after which she makes her highly anticipated role debut as Tosca at The State Theatre Košice in Slovakia. She then returns to the Vienna State Opera as the Foreign Princess in Rusalka. Major cover contracts this season include title role in Turandot and Minnie in La fanciulla del West at the Vienna State Opera followed by the title role of Ariadne auf Naxos on the Bavarian State Opera tour in Hong Kong.

In recent seasons, Eliška Weissová has performed the roles of Martinka (Smetana’s The Kiss) at the Wexford Festival, Kostelnička (Jenůfa) at the Opéra de Rennes, Opéra-Théâtre de Limoges and Grand-Théâtre de Reims, the Foreign Princess and Ježibaba (Rusalka) at the Slovak National Theatre, Azucena (Il trovatore) and Amneris (Aida) at the Theater Erfurt. At the Opéra de Rennes she appeared as Ulrica (Un ballo in Maschera) and Rossweisse (Die Walküre) – she performed the latter also with the Bayreuth Festival.

In 2018, Weissová successfully made the transition to dramatic soprano when she debuted as Giorgetta in Il tabarro at the National Theatre in Bratislava. Since then, she has continued to impress audiences with her performances in leading roles: she sang the title role in Smetana´s Libuše at the North Bohemian Theatre in Ústí nad Labem where she later debuted as Isolde (Tristan and Isolde). In 2019, she performed the role of Amneris in a new production of Aida at the historic Hatshepsut Temple complex in Luxor under the baton of Oksana Lyniv. She frequently performs at the National Theatre in Prague: she appeared there as Fata Morgana in The Love for Three Oranges and Ortrud in Lohengrin directed by Katharina Wagner. There she made her role debuts as Turandot and Abigaille (Nabucco) in 2020. In Prague she also appeared as Kostelnička (Jenůfa) – the role that she later performed at the Welsh National Opera.

Eliška Weissová graduated from the Brno Conservatory and the Prague Academy of Music under the tutelage of René Tuček. She has won several prizes at international singing competitions, including first prize at the Antonín Dvořák International Singing Competition in Karlovy Vary in 2004, and third prize at the Mikuláš Schneider-Trnavský Singing Competition in Slovakia in 2006. She was also a semi-finalist at the Competizione dell’opera in Dresden and a finalist at the Boris Christoff Competition in Sofia.

 

© CSAM, August 2023

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

News

Eliška Weissová: House debut as Kostelnička at the Hamburg State Opera

Eliška Weissová makes her house debut at the Hamburg State Opera as Kostelnička in Janáček’s Jenůfa. Alongside Laura Wilde in the title role, the Czech soprano can be heard on January 6, 9, 11 & 13. Olivier Tambosi’s production is conducted by Tomas Netopil.
More

Eliška Weissová: Tosca at the National Theatre Košice

Soprano Eliška Weissová takes on the title role of Floria Tosca in Puccini's Tosca at the National Theatre Košice, Slovakia and can be seen on stage alongside Peter Berger as Mario Cavaradossi under the musical direction of Peter Valentinović on October 13, 2023.
More

Eliška Weissová: Jenůfa at the Latvian National Opera

Eliška Weissová returns to her signature role of Kostelnička in Jenůfa, this time performing at the Latvian National Opera under the baton of Mārtiņš Ozoliņš in the production by Alvis Hermanis. The Czech soprano can be heard on August 31 and September 2 and 3, 2023.
More

Pictures

Eliška Weissová

Sopran

Biographie

Eliška Weissová ist eine tschechische dramatische Sopranistin, die sowohl national als auch international erfolgreich auftritt. Seit 2006 ist Weissová regelmäßiger Gast am Nationaltheater Prag, an der Walisischen Nationaloper, der Opéra de Rennes, dem Theater Ústí nad Labem und dem Slowakischen Nationaltheater. Einer ihrer bemerkenswertesten Auftritte in jüngster Zeit war ihr Hausdebüt an der Wiener Staatsoper als Kostelnička in Jenůfa unter der Leitung von Tomáš Hanus. Ihre Darbietung wurde von der Kritik gelobt, die vor allem ihre kraftvolle Stimme und emotionale Tiefe hervorhob.

Kontakt

Liliia Salpeter
Artist Manager

+49 171 9150 336
Judith Neuhoff
Managing Director

+49 30 166359850
Francesca Condeluci
Associate Director, North America

+1 917 349 1443
Maria Meshcherinova
Managerial Assistant

+49 30 166359857

Biographie

Eliška Weissová ist eine tschechische dramatische Sopranistin, die sowohl national als auch international erfolgreich auftritt. Seit 2006 ist Weissová regelmäßiger Gast am Nationaltheater Prag, an der Walisischen Nationaloper, der Opéra de Rennes, dem Theater Ústí nad Labem und dem Slowakischen Nationaltheater. Einer ihrer bemerkenswertesten Auftritte in jüngster Zeit war ihr Hausdebüt an der Wiener Staatsoper als Kostelnička in Jenůfa unter der Leitung von Tomáš Hanus. Ihre Darbietung wurde von der Kritik gelobt, die vor allem ihre kraftvolle Stimme und emotionale Tiefe hervorhob.

Eliška Weissová sang die Rollen der Martinka (Smetanas Der Kuß) beim Opernfestival in Wexford, Irland, der Kostelnička (Jenůfa) an der Opéra de Rennes, dem Opéra-Théâtre de Limoges und dem Grand-Théâtre de Reims. Sie interpretierte außerdem die Fremde Fürstin und Ježibaba (Rusalka) am Slowakischen Nationaltheater, Azucena (Il trovatore) und Amneris (Aida) am Theater Erfurt. An der Opéra de Rennes trat sie als Ulrica (Un ballo in Maschera) und Rossweisse (Die Walküre) auf – letztere auch bei den Bayreuther Festspielen.

Weissovás Spielzeit 23/24 beginnt an der Lettischen Nationaloper mit Aufführungen von Kostelnička (Jenůfa), danach gibt sie ihr mit Spannung erwartetes Rollendebüt als Tosca am Staatstheater Košice in der Slowakei. Anschließend kehrt sie als Fremde Prinzessin in Rusalka an die Wiener Staatsoper zurück. Zu ihren wichtigsten Cover-Aufträgen in dieser Saison gehören die Titelrolle in Turandot und Minnie in La fanciulla del West an der Wiener Staatsoper, gefolgt von der Titelrolle in Ariadne auf Naxos auf der Tournee der Bayerischen Staatsoper in Hongkong.

In den letzten Spielzeiten war Eliška Weissová als Martinka (Smetanas Der Kuss) beim Wexford Festival, als Kostelnička (Jenůfa) an der Opéra de Rennes, am Opéra-Théâtre de Limoges und am Grand-Théâtre de Reims, als Fremde Prinzessin und Ježibaba (Rusalka) am Slowakischen Nationaltheater sowie als Azucena (Il trovatore) und Amneris (Aida) am Theater Erfurt zu erleben. An der Opéra de Rennes trat sie als Ulrica (Un ballo in Maschera) und Rossweisse (Die Walküre) auf – letztere auch bei den Bayreuther Festspielen.

Eliška Weissová absolvierte ihr Studium am Konservatorium in Brünn und an der Prager Musikakademie bei René Tuček. Sie hat mehrere Preise bei internationalen Gesangswettbewerben gewonnen, darunter den ersten Preis beim Internationalen Antonín-Dvořák-Gesangswettbewerb in Karlsbad im Jahr 2004 und den dritten Preis beim Mikuláš-Schneider-Trnavský-Gesangswettbewerb in der Slowakei im Jahr 2006. Außerdem war sie Halbfinalistin beim Competizione dell’opera in Dresden und Finalistin beim Boris-Christoff-Wettbewerb in Sofia.

 

© CSAM, August 2023

 

 

 

 

 

Aktuelles

Eliška Weissová: Bühnendebüt an Staatsoper Hamburg

Eliška Weissová gibt ihr Hausdebüt an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper als Kostelnička in Janáčeks Jenůfa. An der Seite von Laura Wilde in der Titelpartie ist die tschechische Sopranistin am 6., 9., 11. und 13. Januar zu erleben. Die Inszenierung von Olivier Tambosi wird von Tomas Netopil dirigiert.
Mehr

Eliška Weissová: Tosca an dem Staatstheater Košice

Soprano Eliška Weissová übernimmt die Titelrolle der Floria Tosca in Puccinis Tosca am Staatstheater Košice, Slowakei und ist neben Peter Berger als Mario Cavaradossi unter der musikalischen Leitung von Peter Valentinović am 13. Oktober 2023 auf der Bühne zu sehen.
Mehr

Eliška Weissová: Jenůfa an der Lettischen Nationaloper

Eliška Weissová kehrt zu ihrer Paradenrolle der Kostelnička in Jenůfa zurück, diesmal an der Lettischen Nationaloper unter der musikalischen Leitung von Mārtiņš Ozoliņš und in der Inszenierung von Alvis Hermanis. Die tschechische Sopranistin ist am 31. August sowie am 2. und 3. September 2023 zu hören.
Mehr

Bilder